PET FEEDERS · QUESTION ANSWER

Wet-food automatic feeders: app cooling or a simple timer?

Question: I feed my cat wet food while I am away. Should I buy an app-controlled cooled feeder, or is a timed tray with ice packs enough?

The first decision is how food will be stored before a meal, not whether the feeder has an app. The active-cooling products and passive ice-pack trays make different claims; neither removes the need to follow the food maker’s storage instructions.

Updated 2026-09-26 · Manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis; no hands-on testing.

Research basis: These exact-model comparisons use linked manufacturer facts. We have not tested the feeders hands-on. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
THE SHORT ANSWER

What the evidence points to

PetSafe FreshFeed is the documented six-meal choice if you can meet its stated indoor cooling conditions and want app scheduling. PETLIBRO Polar provides three app-programmed wet meals, but its published laboratory result of about 54°F at a 77°F room temperature is not the FDA’s 40°F refrigerator threshold. Cat Mate C200 and C500 use passive ice packs and local timers; choose them only when that storage approach fits your food-handling plan. ARF AP5MAF is a simple wet/dry tray, with no confirmed cooling specification in its profile.

The needs behind this answer

Your pet’s foodWet foodMust-have
Meal controlAn app would be usefulPreference

Change the answers in the feeder finder →

How the candidates fit those needs

Documented fit for the selected feeding routine
NeedPETLIBRO Polar Smart Wet Food FeederPetSafe FreshFeed Refrigerated Pet FeederArf Pets Automatic Pet Feeder for Dry & Wet FoodCat Mate / Closer Pets C200 Two-meal Automatic Pet FeederCat Mate / Closer Pets C500 Five-meal Automatic Pet Feeder
Wet-food feeding · Must-haveFitsIt supports the type of food you selected. Manufacturer lists canned, pouch, semi-moist, and prescription canned wet foods; it advises against raw food.FitsIt supports the type of food you selected. Product is intended for wet, fresh, and raw food diets.FitsIt supports the type of food you selected. Wet or dry foodFitsIt supports the type of food you selected. Accepts wet, dry, or mixed meals.FitsIt supports the type of food you selected. Accepts wet, dry, or mixed meals according to the maker.
Remote app control · PreferenceFitsIt offers remote app control for the routine you selected. Petlibro app supports schedules, manual feeding, repeat plans, and meal duration.FitsIt offers remote app control for the routine you selected. PetSafe Pet Companion app schedules meals and sends notifications; no subscription is required.Needs checkingRemote app control is not confirmed for this version.Needs checkingRemote app control is not confirmed for this version.Needs checkingRemote app control is not confirmed for this version.

Compare the specific models

Every model below satisfies the documented must-haves. Preferences order the shortlist; unknown facts do not become positive matches.

Closer fit for these answers

PETLIBRO Polar Smart Wet Food Feeder

PLAF109 · PLAF109, US stainless-steel tray option; color unspecified

A three-meal app-controlled wet-food tray with manufacturer-stated thermoelectric cooling. Its published 54°F lab result must not be treated as a 40°F refrigerator or a universal food-safety guarantee.

Why it may fit

Three pre-portioned wet meals and app control suit a shorter routine with remote schedule changes.

Meal format ↗ · Food compatibility ↗ · App control ↗

What to weigh

PETLIBRO reports about 54°F at a 77°F room temperature; the AA backup is documented for schedules, not active cooling.

Published cooling conditions ↗ · Normal and backup power ↗ · Backup cooling unknown ↗

Confirmed needs

  • It supports the type of food you selected. Manufacturer lists canned, pouch, semi-moist, and prescription canned wet foods; it advises against raw food. Source ↗
  • It offers remote app control for the routine you selected. Petlibro app supports schedules, manual feeding, repeat plans, and meal duration. Source ↗
Read the full buying review ↓
Closer fit for these answers

PetSafe FreshFeed Refrigerated Pet Feeder

PFD00-18290 · PFD00-18290, US refrigerated six-meal feeder

A six-meal wet-food feeder whose maker specifies 40°F cooling only under stated placement and room-temperature conditions. That condition matters more than the headline cooling claim.

Why it may fit

Six pre-portioned meals, app scheduling, and a manufacturer-stated 40°F cooling target address longer wet-food routines when the setup conditions can be met.

Meal capacity ↗ · App control ↗ · Conditional cooling claim ↗

What to weigh

The stated temperature depends on a 60–85°F room, airflow, clearance, and filter care; it is not a verified result for every home.

Ambient-temperature range ↗ · Placement and maintenance ↗ · Conditional cooling claim ↗

Confirmed needs

  • It supports the type of food you selected. Product is intended for wet, fresh, and raw food diets. Source ↗
  • It offers remote app control for the routine you selected. PetSafe Pet Companion app schedules meals and sends notifications; no subscription is required. Source ↗
Read the full buying review ↓
Alternative to compare

Arf Pets Automatic Pet Feeder for Dry & Wet Food

AP5MAF · AP5MAF product-code edition; color unspecified

A tray-style feeder the manufacturer lists for both wet and dry food, with local scheduling for up to three meals a day. The official page does not document refrigeration or remote app control.

Why it may fit

This locally programmed tray is documented for wet or dry food and offers up to three scheduled meals per day.

Documented food types ↗ · Scheduled meals ↗ · Programming ↗

What to weigh

Its verified profile does not establish a food-cooling temperature. Arrange food storage and care around that uncertainty.

Documented food types ↗ · Food trays ↗

Confirmed needs

  • It supports the type of food you selected. Wet or dry food Source ↗

Check before relying on it

  • Remote app control is not confirmed for this version.
Read the full buying review ↓
Alternative to compare

Cat Mate / Closer Pets C200 Two-meal Automatic Pet Feeder

C200 · C200 Cat Mate plastic-bowl version, not the stainless-insert option

A two-compartment local-timer feeder for wet or dry meals. Its linked lids can open both bowls at once, but the ice pack has no specified holding temperature.

Why it may fit

Two independently timed compartments can hold wet or mixed meals; linked lids can open both bowls together.

Bowl capacity ↗ · Food compatibility ↗ · Two-bowl lid link ↗

What to weigh

The single ice pack is passive and has no specified food temperature. Its two meal spaces may be too few for a longer routine.

Ice pack ↗ · Bowl capacity ↗

Confirmed needs

  • It supports the type of food you selected. Accepts wet, dry, or mixed meals. Source ↗

Check before relying on it

  • Remote app control is not confirmed for this version.
Read the full buying review ↓
Alternative to compare

Cat Mate / Closer Pets C500 Five-meal Automatic Pet Feeder

C500 · C500 Cat Mate plastic-bowl version, not the stainless-insert option

A five-compartment wet or dry feeder with four scheduled openings and passive ice packs. The manufacturer publishes conflicting bowl capacities, so no capacity recommendation is made.

Why it may fit

Five tray compartments give one immediate meal and four timed openings without an app.

Meal arrangement ↗ · Timer ↗ · Food compatibility ↗

What to weigh

The two ice packs do not establish refrigeration; the manufacturer publishes conflicting per-compartment capacities, so verify your portion fit.

Ice packs ↗ · Published capacity conflict ↗

Confirmed needs

  • It supports the type of food you selected. Accepts wet, dry, or mixed meals according to the maker. Source ↗

Check before relying on it

  • Remote app control is not confirmed for this version.
Read the full buying review ↓

Full buying reviews

Each review below explains the practical use case, limits and manufacturer sources. The product page holds the exact specification table.

PETLIBRO Polar Smart Wet Food Feeder: full buying review

Consider it if three portions and app scheduling suit your routine, and do not treat the maker’s cooling claim as proof of 40°F storage.

Meal format ↗ · App control ↗ · Cooling claim ↗ · Published cooling conditions ↗ · Wet-food storage guidance ↗

Reasons to consider it

Reasons to look elsewhere

Three portions, with specific food limits

The rotating tray stores three pre-portioned meals, up to 200 mL (6.76 oz) each. PETLIBRO lists canned, pouch, semi-moist, and prescription canned wet foods as compatible, but advises against raw food.

Meal format ↗ · Compartment capacity ↗ · Food compatibility ↗

App scheduling and cooling claims

The app offers schedules, manual feeding, repeat plans, and meal duration; Wi-Fi is 2.4 GHz only. PETLIBRO claims thermoelectric cooling for up to 72 hours, but reports about 54°F at 77°F room temperature and says cooling pauses roughly 30 minutes before serving.

App control ↗ · Wi-Fi ↗ · Cooling claim ↗ · Published cooling conditions ↗

What the temperature figures mean

The manufacturer’s reported lab result does not establish that food stays at 40°F. FDA guidance says to promptly refrigerate or discard unused canned or pouched pet food, with refrigerator temperature at 40°F or below. Treat the feeder’s stated cooling duration as a manufacturer claim, not a food-safety guarantee.

Published cooling conditions ↗ · Cooling claim ↗ · Wet-food storage guidance ↗

Power, fit, and cleaning

Normal power uses a 12 V / 5 A adapter. Three AA batteries, not included, maintain scheduled feeding for up to 12 hours in an outage; the maker does not state that they maintain active cooling. The footprint is 361 × 340 mm and height is 196 mm; PETLIBRO recommends a cat shoulder height of at least 155 mm. The stainless-steel tray option is dishwasher safe, and the lid has an anti-pinch sensor.

Normal and backup power ↗ · Backup cooling unknown ↗ · Dimensions and cat fit ↗ · Tray variants and cleaning ↗ · Lid safety ↗

Common questions

How much food fits in each serving?

Each of the three compartments holds 200 mL (6.76 oz), according to the current US specification.

Meal format ↗ · Compartment capacity ↗
Does it keep wet food at refrigerator temperature?

The maker reports about 54°F in lab conditions at a 77°F room temperature. That is not the FDA’s 40°F-or-below refrigerator guidance, so the reported result does not establish that the food reaches that threshold.

Published cooling conditions ↗ · Wet-food storage guidance ↗
Does cooling continue during a power outage?

The three AA batteries maintain scheduled feeding for up to 12 hours, but PETLIBRO does not state that they maintain active cooling.

Normal and backup power ↗ · Backup cooling unknown ↗

Exact-model specifications and sources →

PetSafe FreshFeed Refrigerated Pet Feeder: full buying review

Worth considering when six meals and the stated placement conditions fit; the cooling figure is the manufacturer’s conditional claim, not an independent food-safety test.

Meal capacity ↗ · Conditional cooling claim ↗ · Ambient-temperature range ↗ · Placement and maintenance ↗

Reasons to consider it

  • The rotating tray holds six pre-portioned meals, up to 5 fl oz per compartment. Meal capacity ↗
  • PetSafe lists wet, fresh, and raw food diets as intended uses. Food compatibility ↗
  • The app schedules meals and sends notifications without requiring a subscription. App control ↗

Reasons to look elsewhere

Six scheduled portions

The rotating tray holds six pre-portioned meals, up to 5 fl oz per compartment; PetSafe also lists total capacity as 4.5 cups. It is intended for wet, fresh, and raw food diets, and the maker positions it for cats and small dogs.

Meal capacity ↗ · Total capacity ↗ · Food compatibility ↗ · Lid and pet fit ↗

Cooling depends on setup

PetSafe claims dual-semiconductor cooling can maintain 40°F when the feeder is used as directed. Its support guidance specifies an indoor ambient range of 60–85°F, a flat, dry location, at least 1 inch of clearance beneath the unit, unobstructed vents, and monthly fur-filter cleaning. These are manufacturer conditions, not an independent food-safety test.

Conditional cooling claim ↗ · Ambient-temperature range ↗ · Placement and maintenance ↗

Serving and app details

Chilling pauses five minutes before a meal and does not actively chill while food is being served, so planned meal timing matters. The PetSafe Pet Companion app schedules meals and sends notifications without a subscription; initial pairing uses 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.

Serving behavior ↗ · App control ↗ · Wi-Fi setup ↗

Fit and cleanup

PetSafe lists adjustable legs and a secure locking lid. The main food tray must be hand-washed; optional stainless inserts are dishwasher-safe.

Lid and pet fit ↗ · Tray cleaning ↗

Common questions

Does it maintain 40°F in every room?

No such universal result is documented. PetSafe’s 40°F claim is conditional on use as directed, including an indoor ambient temperature of 60–85°F, clear airflow, and routine fur-filter cleaning.

Conditional cooling claim ↗ · Ambient-temperature range ↗ · Placement and maintenance ↗
Can it be used with raw food?

PetSafe lists raw food diets among the intended uses. That is a manufacturer-stated compatibility claim, not a separate food-safety assessment.

Food compatibility ↗
Which parts can go in the dishwasher?

The optional stainless inserts are dishwasher-safe; the main food tray is hand-wash only.

Tray cleaning ↗

Exact-model specifications and sources →

Arf Pets Automatic Pet Feeder for Dry & Wet Food: full buying review

Worth considering if your routine fits up to three scheduled meals and you are comfortable programming the feeder locally. Wet-food use is listed, but the supplied facts do not verify refrigerated holding or safe stand time. These are documentation-based findings, not hands-on test results.

Scheduled meals ↗ · Programming ↗ · Documented food types ↗

Reasons to consider it

Reasons to look elsewhere

  • The documented schedule is limited to up to three meals per day. Scheduled meals ↗
  • Wet food is listed, but the supplied documentation does not establish refrigeration or safe holding time. Documented food types ↗
  • Scheduling is documented through the local control panel; remote app control is not established by the supplied facts. Programming ↗

Meal cadence and trays

The manufacturer says the feeder holds up to five food trays, while the documented schedule supports up to three meals per day. Those figures describe tray capacity and daily scheduling separately; the supplied facts do not say that every tray corresponds to a scheduled meal.

Food trays ↗ · Scheduled meals ↗

Wet or dry food

The manufacturer lists both wet and dry food. However, the supplied documentation does not establish refrigeration or how long wet food can safely remain in the feeder. If unattended wet meals are central to your plan, verify safe holding guidance before relying on this model.

Documented food types ↗

Controls and meal call

Scheduling is documented through the local control panel, and a recorded voice message can play at feeding time. The supplied facts establish local programming, not remote app changes. This review reflects the documented features rather than hands-on testing.

Programming ↗ · Meal call ↗

Common questions

How many meals can it schedule per day?

The manufacturer documents up to three scheduled meals daily. It separately says the feeder holds up to five food trays.

Scheduled meals ↗ · Food trays ↗
Can it be used with wet food?

Wet-food use is listed, but the supplied documentation does not establish refrigeration or safe holding time.

Documented food types ↗
Can I change its schedule from a phone?

The documented programming method is the local control panel; the supplied facts do not establish remote app control.

Programming ↗

Exact-model specifications and sources →

Cat Mate / Closer Pets C200 Two-meal Automatic Pet Feeder: full buying review

A practical fit for two timed portions when passive cooling is not being relied on as verified cold storage.

Bowl capacity ↗ · Timer range ↗ · Ice pack ↗

Reasons to consider it

Reasons to look elsewhere

  • There are only two timed compartments, which limits the number of scheduled portions. Bowl capacity ↗ · Timer range ↗
  • The passive ice pack has no specified food temperature, so it cannot by itself establish a refrigerated storage temperature for wet food. Ice pack ↗
  • The linked lids open both bowls together; that does not ensure each pet eats its assigned portion. Two-bowl lid link ↗

Two independently timed compartments

The maker specifies two compartments, each holding up to 400 g / 14 oz, and a quartz timer for each that can be set up to 48 hours ahead. It accepts wet, dry, or mixed meals, but its two compartments make it a narrow fit if you need more scheduled portions.

Bowl capacity ↗ · Timer range ↗ · Food compatibility ↗

Linked bowls suit simultaneous serving

A clip can link the lids so both bowls open at once for two pets. That is useful when both portions should be available together, but it does not control which pet eats from which bowl. The maker positions the feeder for cats and small dogs.

Two-bowl lid link ↗ · Stability and pet fit ↗

Treat the ice pack as passive cooling

The maker says one removable ice pack sits beneath the trays, but gives no measured food temperature. For wet food, do not assume that a passive ice pack establishes refrigeration; follow the food maker’s handling guidance.

Food compatibility ↗ · Ice pack ↗

Battery and cleanup details

It runs on one AA battery, not included; the maker estimates up to 12 months of operation. Bowls and lids are dishwasher safe. The maker also describes the body as BPA-free and food-safe, with tamper- and fly-resistant construction; it can be mounted to a board for stability. These are manufacturer specifications, not hands-on test findings.

Power ↗ · Cleaning ↗ · Body ↗ · Stability and pet fit ↗

Common questions

Can the C200 serve wet food?

The maker says it accepts wet food and includes a passive ice pack, but specifies no measured food temperature. Follow the food maker’s storage guidance; do not assume an ice pack refrigerates the tray.

Food compatibility ↗ · Ice pack ↗
Can both bowls open together?

Yes. The included lid-link clip can open both bowls together. The documentation does not say this ensures each pet eats its own portion.

Two-bowl lid link ↗
How far ahead can I set each timer?

Each quartz timer can be programmed up to 48 hours ahead.

Timer range ↗

Exact-model specifications and sources →

Cat Mate / Closer Pets C500 Five-meal Automatic Pet Feeder: full buying review

Consider it for the meal schedule, but not when verified compartment capacity or measured cold storage is essential.

Meal arrangement ↗ · Published capacity conflict ↗ · Ice packs ↗

Reasons to consider it

Reasons to look elsewhere

  • The manufacturer page lists conflicting capacities: 330 g / 11.5 oz near the top and 155 g / 0.34 lb in Key Features. Usable capacity is unresolved. Published capacity conflict ↗
  • Two passive ice packs are included, but the maker states no measured food-temperature target; they do not verify the FDA's 40°F refrigerator guidance for wet food. Ice packs ↗
  • It requires three AA batteries, not supplied; the maker estimates 12 months of operation. Power ↗

A useful schedule, with an important limit

The five compartments provide one meal available immediately and four programmed times. The digital timer shows programmed feeding times on an LCD. That arrangement may suit a household wanting several portions staged in one feeder, but the maker's capacity conflict means you cannot confidently plan portion sizes from the published numbers.

Meal arrangement ↗ · Timer ↗ · Published capacity conflict ↗

Capacity is unresolved

The manufacturer's US page gives two incompatible figures per compartment: 330 g / 11.5 oz near the top and 155 g / 0.34 lb under Key Features. The records therefore do not support a capacity recommendation. Check the required portion against reliable product information before relying on this feeder.

Published capacity conflict ↗

Wet-food cooling is not temperature-verified

The maker says the feeder accepts wet, dry, or mixed food and includes two passive ice packs, but specifies no measured food-temperature target. This is not evidence the food stays at the FDA's 40°F refrigerator guidance; do not assume the packs guarantee safe wet-food storage.

Food compatibility ↗ · Ice packs ↗

Power, cleaning, and intended pets

It runs on three AA batteries, not supplied, with a manufacturer estimate of 12 months of operation. The bowl and lid are dishwasher safe. The maker describes it for cats and small dogs; its tamper-resistant body can be fastened to a wooden board for stability. These are manufacturer specifications, not hands-on test results.

Power ↗ · Cleaning ↗ · Intended pets ↗ · Stability ↗

Common questions

How many meals can the C500 schedule?

It has five compartments: one meal is immediately available and four times can be programmed. The LCD confirms programmed feeding times.

Meal arrangement ↗ · Timer ↗
How much food does each compartment hold?

The manufacturer page conflicts, giving 330 g / 11.5 oz in one place and 155 g / 0.34 lb in another. Treat the usable capacity as unverified.

Published capacity conflict ↗
Do the ice packs keep wet food at refrigerator temperature?

The maker documents two passive ice packs but no measured food-temperature target. That does not verify the FDA's 40°F refrigerator guidance.

Ice packs ↗

Exact-model specifications and sources →

What this answer assumes

  • Wet-food compatibility is a hard requirement. App control is a preference, so locally timed alternatives remain visible.
  • The FDA advises promptly refrigerating or discarding unused canned or pouched pet food and keeping refrigerators at 40°F or below. A manufacturer’s cooling claim is not an independent safety test for your food and room.
  • We compare the documented model, not today’s price or an unverified Amazon variant. Check the exact tray and seller before purchasing.

FDA: proper storage of pet food and treats ↗

Follow-up questions

Are ice packs equivalent to refrigeration?

No documented ice-pack temperature in these profiles establishes a 40°F refrigerator condition. Check the food maker’s handling instructions for your exact meal.

Does PETLIBRO Polar keep cooling on AA backup?

The supplied manufacturer facts establish backup of scheduled serving for up to 12 hours; active cooling on backup is not documented.

Can I rely on the stated 40°F PetSafe figure in any room?

PetSafe ties its cooling claim to an indoor 60–85°F ambient range, ventilation clearance, and maintenance. It is a conditional maker specification, not our independent measurement.

Get a shortlist for your own answers →