What we would do
If native 4K imaging is essential, the DLA-NX5 is the only one of these three with a documented native 4096 × 2160 device. It is a discontinued, lamp-based conventional-throw projector, and its 1800-lumen figure is not labeled ANSI. If 4K UHD output through XPR meets your need, the TK850 has a documented 1080p DMD and 3000 ANSI lumens, while the HU70LAB pairs XPR output with up to 1500 ANSI lumens and webOS 4.5. Treat those descriptions as different specifications, not as a picture-quality ranking.
What this answer assumes
These are the needs behind this comparison. Change them in the questionnaire to get a shortlist for your own routine.
How each option answers the need
“Fits” means the reviewed option has the documented feature. “Trade-off” means it does not. “Needs checking” means the source does not confirm the detail for this setting. Must-haves are applied before the remaining candidates are ordered by preferences.
| Need or preference | BenQ TK850 | JVC DLA-NX5 | LG CineBeam HU70LAB |
|---|---|---|---|
| Movies and shows at homeDocumented product role · Must-have | FitsThe saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. | FitsThe saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. | FitsThe saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. |
Compare the documented features against your priorities, then read the reviews for the practical trade-offs.
Options to consider without a ranking
No selected preference separates these options. Read their documented differences and trade-offs before choosing.
The TK850 is a useful shortlist option when a buyer wants a manufacturer-listed ANSI brightness figure, 4K UHD XPR output, and a conventional throw lens. The 1.13–1.47 ratio and vertical lens shift still require a measured room plan.
Why it appears here
BenQ documents 4K UHD XPR output, a 3000-ANSI-lumen rating, conventional throw, and vertical lens shift, making the image-output route and placement range clear.
What you give up
The imaging device is 1080p rather than native 4K, and this discontinued lamp model still needs a careful check of lamp hours and lens condition.
Documented matches
- The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected.
From the full review
- BenQ rates brightness at 3000 ANSI lumens and output resolution at 4K UHD.
- The 1.3× zoom and 10% vertical lens shift offer limited placement flexibility.
Also weigh
- Its native DMD is 1080p; 4K UHD output uses XPR pixel displacement.
- A lamp's remaining hours and condition must be checked on a used unit.
- Image format
- 4K UHD XPR output from a 1080p DMD
- Rated light output
- 3000 ANSI lumens
- Placement
- Conventional throw, 1.13–1.47:1
Sources for this candidate
- BenQ TK850 U.S. specifications and official quick guide ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- BenQ TK850 official specifications ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- BenQ TK850 official quick guide, XPR resolution note ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- BenQ TK850 official support and download page ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
The DLA-NX5 belongs on a shortlist when the buyer specifically wants a documented native 4K imaging device and has a room for a conventional installed projector. JVC's motorized lens shift and zoom can help with setup, but the exact used unit needs an optical and lamp inspection.
Why it appears here
JVC identifies three native 4096 × 2160 D-ILA imaging devices and motorized installation controls.
What you give up
The 1800-lumen figure is not labeled ANSI, the model uses a lamp, and used-unit hours and optical condition need inspection.
Documented matches
- The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected.
From the full review
- JVC documents three native 4096 × 2160 D-ILA devices.
- A motorized 2× lens and lens shift provide broad installation adjustment.
Also weigh
- The 1800-lumen figure is not labeled ANSI in the cited model page.
- The model uses a lamp; remaining hours and panel condition are unit-specific.
- Image format
- Native 4096 × 2160 D-ILA
- Rated light output
- 1800 lumens; ANSI basis not specified
- Placement
- Conventional installation; motorized lens shift
Sources for this candidate
- JVC DLA-NX5 archived official model page and brochure ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- JVC DLA-NX5 archived model page ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- JVC DLA-NX5 official brochure ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
Consider the HU70LAB for a fixed home-cinema system when you want 4K UHD XPR output, an LED light source, and webOS apps in a conventional-throw chassis. LG's ANSI rating and model-page detail are useful, but the exact used offer and current app support need separate checking.
Why it appears here
LG documents XPR 4K UHD output, up to 1500 ANSI lumens, conventional throw with a 1.25× zoom, and webOS 4.5 for a fixed-room setup.
What you give up
The saved HU70LAB material does not state the native imaging-device pixel count or establish optical lens shift, so confirm those details if either would decide the installation.
Documented matches
- The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected.
From the full review
- LG lists up to 1500 ANSI lumens and 4K UHD output.
- The model family uses a four-channel LED source rated up to 30,000 hours.
Also weigh
- XPR 4K output should not be described as a native 4K imaging chip.
- The 1.2–1.5 throw ratio requires conventional projection distance.
- Image format
- 4K UHD XPR output; native chip resolution not stated here
- Rated light output
- Up to 1500 ANSI lumens
- Placement
- Conventional throw, 1.2–1.5:1; 1.25× zoom
Sources for this candidate
- LG HU70LAB official model page and HU70L family specifications ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- LG HU70LAB U.S. product page ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- LG HU70L family press release and specifications ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
Read each candidate in full
Use the full reviews below for the documented details, pros, cons, alternatives, and sources for every option in this answer. The shortlist above explains how each one fits this question.
BenQ TK850: is it right for you?
Bright XPR 4K for a conventional room.
Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.
Fits your priorities
The TK850 is a useful shortlist option when a buyer wants a manufacturer-listed ANSI brightness figure, 4K UHD XPR output, and a conventional throw lens. The 1.13–1.47 ratio and vertical lens shift still require a measured room plan.
The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected.
Home cinema or sports viewing where ANSI-rated brightness and standard placement matter.
It is not for a near-wall ultra-short-throw layout, a buyer who requires native 4K imaging panels, or someone who wants a battery projector or a current built-in streaming platform.
The advantages and the compromises
Pros
- BenQ rates brightness at 3000 ANSI lumens and output resolution at 4K UHD.
- The 1.3× zoom and 10% vertical lens shift offer limited placement flexibility.
- Two HDMI inputs and dual 5-watt speakers cover common home-theater connections.
Cons
- Its native DMD is 1080p; 4K UHD output uses XPR pixel displacement.
- A lamp's remaining hours and condition must be checked on a used unit.
- The 1.13–1.47 throw ratio requires more space than a UST model.
The key details
- Model covered
- TK850
- Image format
- 4K UHD XPR output from a 1080p DMD
- Rated light output
- 3000 ANSI lumens
- Placement
- Conventional throw, 1.13–1.47:1
ANSI ratings appear only when a model source explicitly gives ANSI lumens. Other manufacturer light-output figures remain labeled by their original basis.
Measure throw distance before falling for the feature list
BenQ lists a 1.13–1.47:1 throw ratio and 1.3× optical zoom. That range gives some flexibility, but it remains a conventional placement system rather than a projector for a cabinet directly below the screen. Use the actual image width and lens-distance range to work out whether a shelf or ceiling mount fits the room. The projector also has a documented 10% vertical lens shift, which can assist installation without replacing careful placement. It does not offer unlimited image movement, and the source does not support describing it as ultra-short-throw.
The ANSI rating is useful, with the normal rating caveat
BenQ lists 3000 ANSI lumens, a manufacturer-rated number with an explicit measurement basis. This is more directly comparable to the Capsule II's 200 ANSI lumens or LG HU70LAB's up-to-1500 ANSI figure than Epson or Hisense output values that use another or unspecified basis. A rated maximum still does not tell you how a particular lamp, image mode, screen, or used unit will perform. Brightness depends on settings and screen size. Treat the figure as a comparison fact, not a promise that daytime viewing will work in every room.
4K UHD output and native imaging resolution are different
BenQ's product page calls the output 4K UHD, while its official quick guide explains that the 3840 × 2160 image is created with XPR pixel displacement from a 1080p DMD. That gives the buyer a clear description of the displayed 4K output without claiming a native 4K chip. The questionnaire therefore records 1920 native horizontal pixels for a source-specific resolution criterion, while the product summary makes the UHD output visible. If a native 4K panel is a firm requirement, compare the JVC DLA-NX5 instead of treating all “4K” labels as identical.
A lamp system asks for ownership questions
BenQ lists normal, ECO, and SmartEco lamp-life ratings, and the TK850 uses a lamp-based DLP system. Those ratings describe a new lamp under specified modes; they do not establish remaining hours, color, or uniformity on an individual renewed projector. Ask the seller for lamp hours and check that the image is sharp across the screen, the cooling system works, and the remote and input ports are present. The optional 3D glasses and ceiling mount are separate accessories in BenQ's materials, so do not assume they come with a particular listing.
Useful connections, with a gaming caveat
The official specification page lists two HDMI 2.0b inputs, two USB-A ports, a pair of 5-watt speakers, and 83.34 milliseconds of input lag at both 1080p60 and 4K60. Those details may suit a mixed-use home room with a media player and a game console, but the lag number is a manufacturer specification rather than a complete gaming evaluation. Picture response, motion, room light, and personal preference are not settled by that number. Connect external audio if the built-in speakers do not meet the room's needs.
Who should compare it with the rest of the shortlist
The TK850 fits someone with enough projection distance who values an ANSI-labeled output figure and wants pixel-shifted 4K UHD video. The LS500 or Hisense PX1-PRO are the close-placement alternatives, with different lumen bases and source packages. The JVC DLA-NX5 has a native 4K D-ILA device and motorized lens controls but a lower listed light output. This is a fit comparison based on manufacturer specifications and room geometry. The historical candidate's renewed condition is unverified, so inspect the exact unit before purchase.
How the alternatives change the decision
The Epson LS500 and Hisense PX1-PRO are ultra-short-throw home-cinema alternatives. The JVC DLA-NX5 is the native-4K choice in this batch, with a different brightness rating and a more involved installation.
Before you decide
Is the TK850 native 4K?
No. BenQ's quick guide describes 4K UHD XPR output from a 1080p DMD using pixel displacement.
How much room does the lens need?
BenQ lists a 1.13–1.47 throw ratio and 1.3× zoom. Measure the planned screen width and mounting distance before purchase.
Does the 3000 ANSI rating guarantee a bright picture in daylight?
No. It is a manufacturer rating, while room light, screen size, mode, and the condition of a used lamp still matter.
The decision for your answers
Shortlist the TK850 for conventional placement, 3000 ANSI-rated output, and XPR 4K UHD. Treat its native DMD, lamp condition, and required throw distance as separate decision points.
Sources & review basis
Specifications come from the documentation below. Advice about suitability is our editorial interpretation of those features.
- BenQ TK850 U.S. specifications and official quick guide ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- BenQ TK850 official specifications ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- BenQ TK850 official quick guide, XPR resolution note ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- BenQ TK850 official support and download page ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
JVC DLA-NX5: is it right for you?
Native 4K D-ILA for a planned theater.
Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.
Fits your priorities
The DLA-NX5 belongs on a shortlist when the buyer specifically wants a documented native 4K imaging device and has a room for a conventional installed projector. JVC's motorized lens shift and zoom can help with setup, but the exact used unit needs an optical and lamp inspection.
The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected.
Dedicated home theater where native 4K and lens placement controls matter.
It is not a portable option, a close-to-wall ultra-short-throw design, or the most straightforward choice for someone who needs a current smart-TV platform or a verified ANSI brightness figure.
The advantages and the compromises
Pros
- JVC documents three native 4096 × 2160 D-ILA devices.
- A motorized 2× lens and lens shift provide broad installation adjustment.
- HDR10 Auto Tone Mapping and HLG support are specified by JVC.
Cons
- The 1800-lumen figure is not labeled ANSI in the cited model page.
- The model uses a lamp; remaining hours and panel condition are unit-specific.
- The saved Amazon exact-model page showed no featured offer at its check.
The key details
- Model covered
- DLA-NX5
- Image format
- Native 4096 × 2160 D-ILA
- Rated light output
- 1800 lumens; ANSI basis not specified
- Placement
- Conventional installation; motorized lens shift
ANSI ratings appear only when a model source explicitly gives ANSI lumens. Other manufacturer light-output figures remain labeled by their original basis.
Native 4K is the defining reason to consider it
JVC identifies three 0.69-inch D-ILA devices with a native 4096 × 2160 resolution. That makes the NX5 distinct from models whose 4K UHD image is created by pixel displacement from a lower-resolution DMD, such as the BenQ TK850 or LG HU70LAB. It is a useful distinction only if native imaging resolution matters to the buyer; it does not by itself establish a subjective picture-quality ranking. For a detailed home theater where 4K sources are central, the published device specification gives the NX5 a clear place in the comparison.
Lens shift turns room planning into a real advantage
The NX5 uses a motorized 2× lens and JVC lists substantial vertical and horizontal lens shift. Those controls offer an installer more choices about where the projector can sit while the image stays aligned, which can be valuable in a dedicated room with seating, beams, or a fixed screen. They do not remove the need to check throw distance, lens memory, mount clearance, and screen dimensions. A projector with this level of adjustment still belongs in a planned installation rather than an improvised tabletop setup.
Keep the brightness rating in its stated units
JVC lists 1800 lumens and a 40,000:1 native contrast ratio, with dynamic contrast stated separately. The page does not label the output figure as ANSI, so the matching profile leaves the ANSI-lumen attribute unknown. That keeps the comparison fair against products whose manufacturers explicitly use ANSI, including the BenQ TK850. Brightness requirements should be checked against the actual screen size, gain, room light, and image mode. A published model rating cannot report the light output of an individual used projector or the condition of its optical path.
HDR processing and connections serve a theater source chain
JVC describes HDR10 Auto Tone Mapping and HLG compatibility, along with two HDMI inputs that support current-for-the-model 18 Gbps signals and HDCP 2.2. Those features give the NX5 a documented way to handle HDR10 and compatible 4K sources. The model also uses an NSH lamp rated for about 4500 hours in low mode. A lamp-hour counter, if present, is only one part of a used-unit inspection; check focus across the image, dust, panel convergence, fans, remote, and HDMI handshakes with your own source equipment.
This is a used-installation decision
JVC marks the NX5 archived, and the product link here searches the exact model name rather than asserting a current offer. Ask for the projector's serial/model plate, lamp hours, lens and mount accessories, service history, and a full-resolution image sample before considering a specific unit. The 1800-lumen rating and long lamp-life estimate describe the model, not the years of use or remaining life of that unit.
When native resolution outweighs convenience
Choose the NX5 if native 4K and flexible lens installation are firm priorities and a conventional projector can be accommodated. If the room requires close-to-wall placement, the Hisense PX1-PRO and Epson LS500 are the relevant UST alternatives, though neither is described here as having native 4K imaging. If a manufacturer-labeled ANSI output figure matters more, compare the BenQ TK850 and accept its XPR approach. This is a model-fit recommendation based on source specifications, not a claim that the NX5 has been viewed or measured by this guide.
How the alternatives change the decision
The BenQ TK850 produces 4K UHD with XPR and lists 3000 ANSI lumens in a conventional smaller installation. The Hisense PX1-PRO and Epson LS500 suit a close-to-wall setup but are not identified here as native 4K imaging devices.
Before you decide
Is the DLA-NX5 native 4K?
Yes. JVC identifies three native 4096 × 2160 D-ILA devices in the model specification.
Is 1800 lumens an ANSI rating?
The cited JVC page says 1800 lm without an ANSI label, so the ANSI matching attribute stays unknown.
What should I inspect on a used NX5?
Check lamp hours, focus across the image, dust, panel convergence, ports, lens condition, and included accessories on the exact unit.
The decision for your answers
The DLA-NX5 is the native-4K installation option in this batch. Its main trade-offs are a lamp-based used-unit purchase, a non-ANSI-labeled brightness figure, and the space needed for a conventional lens.
Sources & review basis
Specifications come from the documentation below. Advice about suitability is our editorial interpretation of those features.
- JVC DLA-NX5 archived official model page and brochure ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- JVC DLA-NX5 archived model page ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- JVC DLA-NX5 official brochure ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
LG CineBeam HU70LAB: is it right for you?
LED 4K UHD with webOS.
Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.
Fits your priorities
Consider the HU70LAB for a fixed home-cinema system when you want 4K UHD XPR output, an LED light source, and webOS apps in a conventional-throw chassis. LG's ANSI rating and model-page detail are useful, but the exact used offer and current app support need separate checking.
The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected.
Home cinema when an integrated platform and LED source are useful.
It is not the best fit for a near-wall cabinet setup, battery-powered portability, a native 4K chip requirement, or the highest ANSI brightness in this batch.
The advantages and the compromises
Pros
- LG lists up to 1500 ANSI lumens and 4K UHD output.
- The model family uses a four-channel LED source rated up to 30,000 hours.
- webOS 4.5 and HDMI, USB, Ethernet, and wireless connections are documented.
Cons
- XPR 4K output should not be described as a native 4K imaging chip.
- The 1.2–1.5 throw ratio requires conventional projection distance.
- Used-unit focus, remote, ports, and light-source condition remain unknown.
The key details
- Model covered
- HU70LAB
- Image format
- 4K UHD XPR output; native chip resolution not stated here
- Rated light output
- Up to 1500 ANSI lumens
- Placement
- Conventional throw, 1.2–1.5:1; 1.25× zoom
ANSI ratings appear only when a model source explicitly gives ANSI lumens. Other manufacturer light-output figures remain labeled by their original basis.
A conventional home-theater layout
LG lists a 1.2–1.5 throw ratio and 1.25× zoom for the HU70LAB family. That puts it in a conventional room layout rather than the near-wall category occupied by the Hisense PX1-PRO and Epson LS500. Check the screen width against the projector distance before buying, and allow a stable shelf or ceiling-mount position. LG gives a 60–140 inch image range in the family specifications, but the usable setup depends on the exact distance and room. The zoom provides some placement latitude; it does not replace a measurement.
Separate 4K UHD output from a native 4K chip
LG identifies 4K UHD output at 3840 × 2160 and describes XPR technology using Texas Instruments DLP. The cited model page does not give the native horizontal pixel count of the underlying imaging device, so the finder leaves that field unknown. This avoids suggesting that the HU70LAB uses the same native 4096 × 2160 D-ILA imaging devices documented for the JVC DLA-NX5. Both may receive or display 4K material, but the underlying resolution mechanism is a separate buying attribute. Choose based on the distinction that matters to your source and room.
Brightness has an ANSI label, with a ceiling
LG lists up to 1500 ANSI lumens. That measurement label permits a more direct basis for comparison with the BenQ TK850's 3000 ANSI-lumen rating than with Epson models whose color and white figures use other methods. The HU70LAB's listed rating still does not predict the picture on a particular screen or the output of a used unit. Room light, screen size, image mode, and optical condition matter. For a dedicated dark room, its rated output may fit the plan; for bright rooms or very large images, compare a higher-output option and the screen requirements carefully.
LED and webOS shape the ownership routine
LG specifies a four-channel LED light source with a family-rated life up to 30,000 hours, and webOS 4.5 appears in the saved model profile. That combination avoids the ordinary lamp-replacement schedule of the BenQ TK850 or JVC DLA-NX5, while keeping streaming apps integrated in the original platform. A long rated light-source life is not a warranty for an old unit or proof of remaining hours. App versions and streaming services may also change. Before purchase, test the platform, remote, network connection, and HDMI inputs on the exact projector.
A well-integrated setup still needs external planning
The HU70LAB lists two HDMI 2.0 ports, USB-A, USB-C, Ethernet, and 3-watt stereo speakers. The source list can support a home-theater chain with an external player or audio system, but it does not promise that every current streaming app remains available on webOS 4.5. If your system depends on a particular service, confirm compatibility before making the projector the only playback device. Check whether the exact offer includes the remote, power cable, and any original accessories, and inspect image focus and uniformity across the screen before accepting a used unit.
The best match depends on placement and detail priorities
Choose the HU70LAB if a conventional throw distance, a documented ANSI rating, LED illumination, and an integrated platform form the combination you want. The LS500 or PX1-PRO move the projector close to the wall and use laser light, while the JVC NX5 is the native-4K choice with a different installation and output basis. These are not quality rankings; they highlight separate requirements. The historical exact candidate ASIN was not verified as a current offer, so this page links to an exact-model search and does not make a stock or price claim.
How the alternatives change the decision
The BenQ TK850 offers an ANSI-labeled 3000-lumen rating and XPR UHD output in a lamp-based conventional-throw design. The Epson LS500 and Hisense PX1-PRO are UST models for a room where the projector must sit close to the screen.
Before you decide
Is HU70LAB native 4K?
LG specifies 4K UHD output with XPR. The cited model page does not state the native horizontal pixel count of the imaging device.
Does the projector have built-in streaming?
LG documents webOS 4.5 in the HU70L family material. Confirm current app support and operation on the exact unit.
Is it ultra-short-throw?
No. LG lists a 1.2–1.5 throw ratio, which is a conventional placement range rather than a near-wall UST design.
The decision for your answers
The HU70LAB is an integrated LED and webOS home-cinema option with 4K UHD XPR output. Its conventional placement, 1500 ANSI-lumen rating, and unknown native chip resolution should remain visible in the decision.
Sources & review basis
Specifications come from the documentation below. Advice about suitability is our editorial interpretation of those features.
- LG HU70LAB official model page and HU70L family specifications ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- LG HU70LAB U.S. product page ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- LG HU70L family press release and specifications ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
What this answer does and does not decide
- The three named models form a curated comparison of documented native 4K and 4K UHD output approaches, not a complete ranking of every projector.
- Native device pixels and XPR 4K UHD output are distinct specifications; the saved HU70LAB source does not establish a native pixel count.
- Room geometry, throw distance, lens condition, light-output mode, and current listing contents require checking on the exact unit.
Change any answer in the interactive video projectors finder if your priorities are different. The finder opens with this answer’s requirements; change any choice to see how the shortlist responds.
Questions to ask before you choose
Are all projectors labeled 4K using native 4K chips?
No. Some models use pixel displacement to produce 4K UHD output from a lower-resolution imaging device. Check the model-specific explanation.
Does native 4K guarantee the right image for my room?
No. Screen size, seating distance, throw range, room light, lens, and condition all affect the setup.
What should I verify on an NX5 listing?
Check the model plate, lamp hours, focus across the image, dust, panel alignment, remote, ports, and included lens or accessories.
Check the product details
Open a full review for the complete editorial analysis, pros, cons, alternatives, and source list. The links below open the full reviews for each option in this answer.
Browse all scenario answers → · Adjust this shortlist in the finder →