Home/Answer pages/Should a USB camera use a manual variable lens or autofocus?
Computers & Office · SCENARIO ANSWER
Should a USB camera use a manual variable lens or autofocus?
Question: For a close-up USB camera setup, is a manually variable lens more useful than autofocus and higher pixel modes?
About this comparison
These three ELP products are camera modules, not all-in-one meeting webcams. The 1.3MP USB130W01MT-FV has the 2.8–12 mm varifocal lens and low-light sensitivity, with 1280×960 MJPEG at 15 fps or 720p MJPEG at 30 fps. The 16MP AF68 and KAF68 autofocus models instead list 3840×2160 MJPEG at 10 fps and 1080p MJPEG at 30 fps; AF68 is a small board package, while KAF68 is sold as a small-case model. Their pixel modes and accessory boundaries differ, so do not compare sensor megapixels alone or assume the mount, cable or enclosure is interchangeable.
Research basis: This answer compares documented features for the reviewed webcams in this guide. We have not tested these products hands-on. This article compares selected models; the interactive finder considers the full reviewed range.
THE SHORT ANSWER
What we would do
Choose ELP-USB130W01MT-FV when manually adjusting a 2.8–12 mm lens range and low-light sensitivity matter more than Full HD output. Its mode table tops out at 1280×960/15 fps; the 720p MJPEG mode reaches 30 fps. The exact Amazon item is mapped to this FV model, but a mount and audio plan remain separate.
Choose USB16MP01-AF68 or USB16MP01-KAF68 when autofocus and higher-resolution capture matter. Both manufacturer pages list 3840×2160 MJPEG at 10 fps and 1080p MJPEG at 30 fps; AF68's board and KAF68's small case are distinct configurations. Their 4K mode is not 4K30, and the checked sources do not establish built-in microphone, speaker, light, physical privacy or standard webcam mounting.
Confirm the host capture program exposes the intended UVC mode, and plan cable, mount, privacy and audio around the exact model package.
THE NEEDS BEHIND THESE PICKS
What this answer assumes
These are the needs behind this comparison. Change them in the questionnaire to get a shortlist for your own routine.
You selected no must-haves or preferences. These options have no preference score or winner; compare their documented differences before deciding what matters.
For close-up USB capture with a manually variable lens
Unranked
Why it appears here
ELP documents a 2.8–12 mm varifocal lens, 0.01 lux low-light sensitivity and USB 2.0/UVC, with the exact FV model number confirmed on the Amazon item.
What you give up
The largest mode is 1280×960/15 fps, the 720p mode reaches 30 fps, and a diagonal field, audio, mount, cover and modern app support are not established.
Documented video modes
1280×960 MJPEG at 15 fps or YUY2 at 9 fps; 1280×720 MJPEG at 30 fps or YUY2 at 15 fps; smaller modes are listed
Focus and framing
2.8–12 mm M12 varifocal lens; diagonal field of view is not stated; model material does not document autofocus
Light and lens privacy
ELP identifies a 0.01 lux low-illumination camera; its standard configuration has no night vision, and an IR LED board is a separate option
Integrated audio
Built-in microphone, speaker, face light and physical lens cover are not established by the checked model sources
Connection and mounting
USB 2.0 High Speed/UVC camera module; Amazon package identifies one one-meter USB cable; physical connector shape is not stated
Identity and setup limits
Exact model number and ASIN cross-check; plan a separate mount, audio and host application, and verify current compatibility
AF68 module with 4K at 10 fps, autofocus, and an exact model-matched Amazon listing
Unranked
Why it appears here
ELP documents autofocus, about 78 degrees diagonal field, UVC and 3840×2160 MJPEG at 10 fps with 1080p MJPEG at 30 fps for the AF68 board module.
What you give up
The 4K rate is 10 fps, high-resolution YUY2 rates are lower, and the matched board package does not establish a monitor clip, microphone, speaker, light or privacy cover.
Documented video modes
4656×3496 MJPEG at 10 fps; 3840×2160 MJPEG at 10 fps; 1920×1080 MJPEG at 30 fps; high-resolution YUY2 rates are lower
Focus and framing
Autofocus; about 78° diagonal and 68° horizontal field of view
Light and lens privacy
No integrated light or physical lens cover is documented; listing identifies a camera board, not a finished clip-on camera
Integrated audio
No built-in microphone or speaker is documented for this model
Connection and mounting
USB 2.0 High Speed UVC and bus power; ELP lists a 38×38 mm board and standard 1 m cable; Amazon package cable length is not specified
Identity and setup limits
Exact AF68 model and B0BX6BMLML listing are verified; confirm mounting, software, and accessory needs for the intended host
For autofocus UVC capture with a narrow 78° diagonal lens
Unranked
Why it appears here
ELP documents the KAF68 autofocus model in a small-case configuration with 4K MJPEG at 10 fps, 1080p MJPEG at 30 fps, a 78-degree diagonal field and UVC.
What you give up
The 4K mode is 10 fps, built-in audio/light/privacy and a finished monitor mount are not established, and the historical Amazon ASIN remains unmapped.
Documented video modes
4656×3496 MJPEG at 10fps; 3840×2160 MJPEG at 10fps; 1920×1080 MJPEG at 30fps
Focus and framing
Autofocus; approx. 78° diagonal and 68° horizontal field
Light and lens privacy
No integrated light or physical cover documented; case material remains unknown
Integrated audio
No integrated microphone or speaker documented
Connection and mounting
USB 2.0 High Speed UVC, bus-powered with a standard 3 m cable
Identity and setup limits
Exact KAF68 model and IMX298 source-confirmed; historical ASIN is unmapped
Search this model on Amazon ↗Paid search link · We may earn a commission. Confirm the exact model and seller in the results.
This curated comparison is for embedded, bench or close-up USB capture where the owner can supply mounting and audio; it is not a ranking of complete desk-call webcams.
The existing AF68 and KAF68 product articles and source checks are reused. This addition does not change either existing product page, question ID or Amazon destination.
Mode tables describe manufacturer-listed formats and rates, not measured performance in a host application.
Change any answer in the interactive webcams finder if your priorities are different. The finder opens with the same must-haves and preferences; change any choice to see how the shortlist responds.
USEFUL FOLLOW-UPS
Questions to ask before you choose
Will the camera-to-subject distance change?
The AF68 and KAF68 are documented as autofocus models. USB130W01MT-FV uses a variable 2.8–12 mm lens, but autofocus is not documented.
Do you need 4K at 30 fps?
None of these three sources lists 4K30. AF68 and KAF68 list 4K MJPEG at 10 fps; USB130W01MT-FV tops out at 1280×960.
Does the package include a camera mount or audio?
The checked model sources do not establish a standard monitor clip, built-in microphone or speaker for these modules; verify the exact package and plan accessories.
SOURCES & REVIEW LINKS
Check the product details
Open a full review for the complete editorial analysis, pros, cons, alternatives, and source list. The links below open the full reviews for each option in this answer.
Use the full reviews below for the documented details, pros, cons, alternatives, and sources for every option in this answer. The shortlist above explains how each one fits this question.
ELP ELP-USB130W01MT-FV 1.3MP Low-Light Varifocal USB WebcamRead the full review · Features, pros, cons and sourcesTHE FULL REVIEW · Explore the features
ELP ELP-USB130W01MT-FV 1.3MP Low-Light Varifocal USB Webcam: is it right for you?
For close-up USB capture with a manually variable lens.
Buyer Shortlists editorial·
Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.
IN THE CONTEXT OF YOUR ANSWERS
Explore the features
ELP-USB130W01MT-FV is a specialized USB camera for a setup that benefits from a manually variable 2.8–12 mm lens and documented low-light sensitivity. It is not a Full HD webcam: the maker's highest listed output is 1280×960 at 15 fps, while its 30 fps modes are 720p and lower. The model and Amazon ASIN cross-match, but the package is still a small camera module with a cable rather than a complete audio-and-mount solution.
You left your preferences open. Use this review to decide which differences matter to you.
Consider it for
A close-up, bench or embedded USB capture setup where the operator wants to adjust the lens range and can supply mounting, audio and privacy separately..
Look elsewhere if
Not for a buyer who needs 1080p, 4K, 1080p60, a ready-to-clip meeting webcam with confirmed audio, or a camera that supplies network viewing or automatic subject tracking.
The advantages and the compromises
Pros
ELP lists the exact ELP-USB130W01MT-FV code and a 2.8–12 mm varifocal lens.
The maker publishes separate MJPEG and YUY2 rates for the listed resolutions instead of relying on the sensor pixel count.
USB 2.0 UVC operation and an exact model-number match on the checked Amazon item give a clear integration and identity starting point.
Cons
The highest listed 1280×960 mode is 15 fps in MJPEG and 9 fps in YUY2; 30 fps is listed at 720p or below.
No diagonal field angle, microphone, speaker, integrated light, physical privacy cover or included mount is confirmed.
The maker's operating-system list is old and does not establish support in a present-day computer or conferencing application.
The key details
Model covered
ELP-USB130W01MT-FV
Documented video modes
1280×960 MJPEG at 15 fps or YUY2 at 9 fps; 1280×720 MJPEG at 30 fps or YUY2 at 15 fps; smaller modes are listed
Focus and framing
2.8–12 mm M12 varifocal lens; diagonal field of view is not stated; model material does not document autofocus
Light and lens privacy
ELP identifies a 0.01 lux low-illumination camera; its standard configuration has no night vision, and an IR LED board is a separate option
Integrated audio
Built-in microphone, speaker, face light and physical lens cover are not established by the checked model sources
Connection and mounting
USB 2.0 High Speed/UVC camera module; Amazon package identifies one one-meter USB cable; physical connector shape is not stated
Identity and setup limits
Exact model number and ASIN cross-check; plan a separate mount, audio and host application, and verify current compatibility
Exact model and package boundary
ELP's product page names ELP-USB130W01MT-FV and describes the 2.8–12 mm lens configuration. The frozen Amazon item repeats that exact model number in its item details, which supports a direct model-to-ASIN link. Its listed contents are a USB camera, manual and one-meter USB cable. ELP gives a 38×38 mm board size, but the checked sources do not establish a monitor clip, tripod thread, enclosure, privacy cap or microphone in this package. Keep the model code attached to the varifocal version: ELP separately lists fixed and single-focal-length options in the family, and those are not the same lens configuration. This review covers the specifically identified FV camera and does not borrow the fields or accessories of another ELP module.
Which output mode trades detail for motion?
The mode table makes the practical tradeoff explicit. At 1280×960, ELP lists MJPEG at 15 frames per second and YUY2 at 9. At 1280×720, MJPEG reaches 30 fps and YUY2 reaches 15. The table also lists smaller 800×600 and VGA modes at up to 30 fps in MJPEG, with their own encoding-specific rates. That means the advertised 960p figure is not a 30 fps promise, and the 1.3 MP sensor description is not a substitute for a live mode. A static close-up may value the larger 960p frame, while a moving subject may be better served by the 720p MJPEG row. The source does not say which combination every host program exposes, so confirm the intended capture application before planning around a particular mode.
A variable lens needs deliberate framing
The 2.8–12 mm M12 varifocal lens is the model's distinguishing setup feature. ELP describes the configuration as varifocal, and the exact Amazon item calls it manual zoom; it gives the operator a lens range rather than a fixed webcam view. A buyer can choose a closer or broader composition for a bench, machine or other stable installation without relying on a digital crop. The checked specifications do not provide a field-of-view number or identify an angle axis, so this cannot be ranked as a particular diagonal-wide webcam. The model material does not document autofocus; if the subject distance changes, do not assume that the camera will refocus by itself. Focus, focal-length adjustment and subject tracking are different functions, and only the variable lens range is supported here.
Low-light sensitivity is not a lamp or night-vision kit
ELP calls this a low-illumination camera and lists 0.01 lux. That is a sensor sensitivity specification; it does not mean the webcam lights the subject. The same page says the standard model has no night vision and describes an IR LED board as a connectable option. The page does not establish that an IR board is included with the Amazon camera-and-cable package, so the review treats it as a separate option. No integrated visible lamp is confirmed, and the finder profile leaves that attribute unknown rather than reading it from the low-light title. Buyers who need an illuminated face for a call should plan an external light. Buyers needing infrared capture should verify the exact accessory, power and host configuration separately.
USB/UVC still leaves a mounting and audio plan
ELP lists USB 2.0 High Speed and UVC, and the Amazon item identifies a one-meter cable. The manufacturer gives a historical operating-system list that includes older Windows releases, Linux with UVC, older macOS, and Android UVC; those statements do not confirm compatibility with a modern meeting application, tablet or driver stack. The source does not specify the physical connector shape at the camera, so a buyer building an enclosure should check the board and cable rather than assume USB-C. The product is not described as a network camera, and the model pages do not establish a microphone or speaker. A finished system may therefore need a mount, a separate microphone or playback device, additional privacy hardware, and a host that can select the intended format.
Who should choose the FV module?
Choose this ELP when a custom camera placement, a 2.8–12 mm lens range and low-light sensitivity matter more than a standard webcam body or high-resolution frame rate. It can be a better fit for a close-up station than a conventional fixed-lens desk webcam when the operator can mount and configure the board. Choose a different product if you need 1080p, 60 fps, a documented wide-angle composition, an integrated mic and speaker, a privacy shutter, or a confirmed monitor attachment. The available mode table and UVC label are manufacturer specifications, not hands-on tests; this review makes no claim about measured image quality or behavior in a particular software package. Confirm the cable route, host capture settings and required accessories before choosing it for a permanent installation.
How the alternatives change the decision
For an ELP autofocus camera module with 4K MJPEG at 10 fps and documented 1080p30 output, compare the already-published AF68 or KAF68 modules. They trade the FV model's manually variable lens range for autofocus and higher pixel modes, while retaining their own board/case and accessory limits.
Before you decide
Does this model provide 1080p video?
No. ELP lists a maximum live mode of 1280×960; its 30 fps mode is 1280×720 MJPEG or smaller.
Is the 2.8–12 mm lens autofocus?
The checked model sources call it a varifocal lens and the Amazon item calls it manual zoom; autofocus is not documented.
Does low-light sensitivity mean the camera includes night vision?
No. ELP says the standard camera has no night vision and describes an IR LED board as a separate connectable option.
Does B00SPAY4O0 identify ELP-USB130W01MT-FV?
The checked Amazon item lists that exact model number, and ELP's manufacturer page names the same model.
Can it be clipped to a monitor and used for video calls by itself?
A monitor clip and built-in audio are not established. The listed package is a camera, manual and one-meter USB cable; plan the mount and audio separately.
The decision for your answers
Choose the FV model for a manually variable close-up lens and USB/UVC integration. Choose another camera for 1080p or higher, autofocus, built-in call audio, confirmed privacy hardware or a ready-made desktop mount; verify the current host and package needs.
ELP USB16MP01-AF68 16MP Autofocus USB Camera ModuleRead the full review · Features, pros, cons and sourcesTHE FULL REVIEW · Explore the features
ELP USB16MP01-AF68 16MP Autofocus USB Camera Module: is it right for you?
AF68 module with 4K at 10 fps, autofocus, and an exact model-matched Amazon listing.
Buyer Shortlists editorial·
Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.
IN THE CONTEXT OF YOUR ANSWERS
Explore the features
ELP's AF68 is a 16MP autofocus camera module with a documented 4K mode, but that mode is listed at 10 fps. Its exact Amazon listing matches the maker's model code. The 38×38 mm board and sparse accessory details make it a camera for a host-integrated setup rather than a ready-to-mount meeting camera.
You left your preferences open. Use this review to decide which differences matter to you.
Consider it for
A custom UVC, embedded, or detail-capture setup that can provide its own mounting and call peripherals and can use high-resolution modes at their listed rates..
Look elsewhere if
It is not a ready-to-use webcam for smooth 4K calls, integrated audio, a physical privacy shutter, broad-room framing, or presenter tracking; the maker does not document those features for AF68.
The advantages and the compromises
Pros
ELP documents the AF68 model code, IMX298 sensor, autofocus, and exact UVC video modes.
The 3840×2160 MJPEG mode is documented, with its 10 fps limit stated clearly.
The exact Amazon listing identifies B0BX6BMLML as the AF68 camera module.
Cons
The 4K mode is 10 fps, while 1080p MJPEG is listed at 30 fps and YUY2 at 5 fps.
The camera-board listing does not document an included clip, housing, privacy cover, light, or audio device.
The Amazon page confirms a cable but not the one-meter length listed as ELP's standard cable.
The key details
Model covered
ELP-USB16MP01-AF68
Documented video modes
4656×3496 MJPEG at 10 fps; 3840×2160 MJPEG at 10 fps; 1920×1080 MJPEG at 30 fps; high-resolution YUY2 rates are lower
Focus and framing
Autofocus; about 78° diagonal and 68° horizontal field of view
Light and lens privacy
No integrated light or physical lens cover is documented; listing identifies a camera board, not a finished clip-on camera
Integrated audio
No built-in microphone or speaker is documented for this model
Connection and mounting
USB 2.0 High Speed UVC and bus power; ELP lists a 38×38 mm board and standard 1 m cable; Amazon package cable length is not specified
Identity and setup limits
Exact AF68 model and B0BX6BMLML listing are verified; confirm mounting, software, and accessory needs for the intended host
A distinct AF68 package
The frozen candidate points to ELP-USB16MP01-AF68. ELP's own product page names that exact code and the Sony IMX298 sensor. The current B0BX6BMLML Amazon page also gives the AF68 model number and identifies the item as a webcam camera module, so this is one of the candidates for which the historical ASIN can be used directly. ELP lists the board as 38×38 mm, compatible with a 32×32 mm footprint. The item details name a camera, box, USB cable and manual. They do not establish a camera housing, monitor clip, tripod fitting, or the cable's length. Keep this configuration separate from ELP-USB16MP01-KAF68. The shared family prefix and IMX298 sensor are not proof that their construction or packages are interchangeable. The AF68 page describes a mini board and a standard one-meter cable; the KAF68 page is a separate small-case model. This review covers AF68's sourced configuration and does not borrow KAF68's enclosure or lead length for the Amazon package.
High pixel counts come with different frame rates
ELP's mode table is more useful than the headline 16MP. It lists 4656×3496 MJPEG at 10 fps and 3840×2160 MJPEG at 10 fps. At 1920×1080, MJPEG reaches 30 fps; YUY2 rates are lower, including 5 fps at 1080p and 1 fps for the 4K and largest modes. A 4K mode is therefore documented, but the source does not describe a smooth 4K30 path. For a call, the 1080p30 MJPEG row is the clearer normal-motion option. For scanning, inspection, or an application that values detail over motion, the higher modes may be more relevant. A host application still needs to expose the chosen resolution and encoding; the manufacturer's table alone does not prove every application can select every combination.
Autofocus and a contained field
ELP identifies the AF68 lens as autofocus, with a 3.2 mm focal length. This can suit a capture position where the subject or object distance changes, though the page gives no focus-speed or minimum-distance measurement. The maker lists about 68° horizontal and 78° diagonal field of view. That is a more contained composition than the finder's 90°-diagonal wide preference. It can reduce how much room enters a fixed frame, but the field values are specifications, not a promise about every host crop. Autofocus changes focus; it does not mean the camera will turn or follow a moving presenter.
Board, cable, and host integration
The AF68 is bus-powered over USB 2.0 High Speed and uses UVC. ELP names Windows, Linux with UVC, macOS and Android with UVC in its compatibility list. The page also lists a 38×38 mm board, about 30 g weight, and a one-meter standard cable with longer lengths optional. The Amazon package says a USB cable is included but does not show its length. Its listing is a camera module, not a conventional monitor-mounted camera body. Confirm the physical mount, board protection, connector/cable arrangement, and capture software before designing around it. ELP's operating-system list is not a guarantee for a specific modern conferencing app or device.
Audio, lighting, and privacy remain open
The manufacturer page and matched Amazon details do not establish a built-in microphone, speaker, face light, physical lens cover, audio privacy switch, or subject-tracking feature. These omissions matter if someone expects a single USB webcam to handle an entire call. Image controls such as exposure and white balance are not a lamp, and autofocus is not subject tracking. The profile leaves those questions unknown rather than treating missing text as a documented negative. A separate microphone, speaker, light, privacy plan, and mechanical mount may be needed, depending on how the module is used.
Who should choose AF68?
Choose AF68 when a project can integrate a small UVC camera board and benefits from autofocus, a 78° diagonal view, or high-resolution MJPEG capture with the stated rate limits. It is also a candidate when exact Amazon model identity matters: B0BX6BMLML is mapped to AF68 by both the page's item details and ELP's model code. Compare a complete desktop webcam if the priority is smooth 4K motion, 1080p60, built-in sound, a physical privacy shutter, a broad room view, or an included mounting system. No hands-on quality, present-day stock, or application-specific performance is asserted here.
How the alternatives change the decision
For a finished call camera with listed privacy or integrated audio, compare the reviewed complete webcam models. The ELP KAF68 is a separate small-case configuration and needs its own offer check.
Before you decide
Does AF68 provide 4K at 30 fps?
No. ELP lists its 3840×2160 MJPEG mode at 10 fps; the 30 fps row is 1920×1080 MJPEG.
Is AF68 the same configuration as KAF68?
No. ELP gives the AF68 and KAF68 different model suffixes and separate product pages; their case and cable details should not be exchanged.
Is B0BX6BMLML confirmed as the AF68 model?
Yes. The opened Amazon item details state model number ELP-USB16MP01-AF68, matching ELP's manufacturer page.
Does the package include a mounting bracket or microphone?
The matched listing names the camera module, box, USB cable, and manual; it does not document a bracket or microphone.
The decision for your answers
AF68 is the exact-match choice for autofocus UVC board capture when a 4K10 mode is useful and the project can provide its own mounting and call peripherals.
ELP USB16MP01-KAF68 16MP Autofocus USB CameraRead the full review · Features, pros, cons and sourcesTHE FULL REVIEW · Explore the features
ELP USB16MP01-KAF68 16MP Autofocus USB Camera: is it right for you?
For autofocus UVC capture with a narrow 78° diagonal lens.
Buyer Shortlists editorial·
Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.
IN THE CONTEXT OF YOUR ANSWERS
Explore the features
ELP's KAF68 configuration is a small UVC camera with autofocus, a 78-degree diagonal lens and a 16MP mode table. Its 3840×2160 mode is listed at 10fps, so it suits detail capture and embedded vision more than a smooth 4K call; audio, privacy and the historical Amazon offer remain unknown.
You left your preferences open. Use this review to decide which differences matter to you.
Consider it for
A close-up or embedded UVC setup that values high-resolution capture and autofocus and can use separate mounting and audio..
Look elsewhere if
Not for smooth 4K30, integrated meeting audio, a confirmed privacy shutter or light, a 90-degree diagonal room view, or a verified metal housing.
The advantages and the compromises
Pros
The manufacturer gives the exact KAF68 model, sensor, autofocus and lens fields.
A documented 3840×2160 MJPEG mode provides a 4K capture option at 10fps.
USB 2.0 UVC and a standard three-meter cable support embedded or custom setups.
Cons
The 4K mode is listed at 10fps, while the 1080p MJPEG mode is listed at 30fps.
The 78-degree diagonal view is narrower than the finder's wide-angle threshold.
Audio, privacy, a monitor clip, metal housing and the candidate ASIN are not confirmed.
The key details
Model covered
ELP-USB16MP01-KAF68
Documented video modes
4656×3496 MJPEG at 10fps; 3840×2160 MJPEG at 10fps; 1920×1080 MJPEG at 30fps
Focus and framing
Autofocus; approx. 78° diagonal and 68° horizontal field
Light and lens privacy
No integrated light or physical cover documented; case material remains unknown
Integrated audio
No integrated microphone or speaker documented
Connection and mounting
USB 2.0 High Speed UVC, bus-powered with a standard 3 m cable
Identity and setup limits
Exact KAF68 model and IMX298 source-confirmed; historical ASIN is unmapped
Identity and lens boundary
The frozen candidate names ELP-USB16MP01-KAF68, and ELP's own page uses the same model code with a Sony IMX298 sensor. This is not the saved ELP-USB16MP01-BL180 fisheye model: KAF68 is the narrow, approximately 68-degree horizontal/78-degree diagonal configuration, while BL180 uses a different lens. The shared USB16MP01 family prefix does not make the lenses interchangeable. The candidate listing says metal case, but ELP's page describes a small assembly and does not confirm metal construction. The old ASIN has not been matched to the manufacturer page, so the purchase route uses an exact model search rather than treating the frozen title as proof of a current offer.
Resolution and frame-rate compromise
ELP's table lists 4656×3496 MJPEG at 10fps, 3840×2160 MJPEG at 10fps, and 1920×1080 MJPEG at 30fps. YUY2 has much lower rates at the highest sizes. This makes 16MP and 4K meaningful only when paired with their listed frame rates: a high pixel count at 10fps is not the same as a normal 30fps video-call mode. The page also lists 2320×1744 MJPEG at 30fps. The profile records the exact 4K mode and the largest documented video height without claiming that all applications can select every format. Buyers should confirm the needed resolution, encoding and frame rate with their host software.
Focus and field of view
The manufacturer identifies autofocus and a 3.2mm lens. For a fixed close-up setup, autofocus can accommodate changes in object distance without manual lens rotation, but the source does not quantify focus range or speed. Its field is roughly 78 degrees diagonal and 68 degrees horizontal. That is a relatively contained view compared with the finder's 90-degree diagonal preference; a wider-room requirement is not met by the 68-degree horizontal figure. The module is not described as a tracking camera, so autofocus should not be mistaken for automatic subject following. The published field values are manufacturer specifications, not measured results from a particular application crop.
USB setup and missing peripherals
ELP lists USB 2.0 High Speed, UVC, USB bus power and a standard three-meter cable. This gives an integration path for computers and UVC-capable systems, including Linux and Android in the stated support list. The page does not identify a USB-C connector; its power connection is listed as a 4-pin 2.0mm socket, so the correct host cable or board connection matters. No integrated microphone, speaker, privacy cover or light is documented. The source does not establish a monitor clip or retail mounting accessories. Treat it as a compact camera module that may need a separate mount and audio device, not as a complete all-in-one meeting webcam.
Who should choose it
Choose KAF68 when autofocus, a narrower 78-degree diagonal field, UVC integration and high-resolution MJPEG modes are useful for close-up capture, a bench, or a custom camera setup. Avoid it if the central need is smooth 4K video, a built-in microphone, physical privacy, a broad diagonal group view or ready-made monitor mounting. Against the 180-degree ELP variant, KAF68 narrows framing rather than giving a fisheye room view; against a conventional call webcam, it prioritizes large image modes and integration details over a complete meeting package. This review reports manufacturer documentation only and makes no claim about measured sharpness, current price, stock or buyer sentiment.
How the alternatives change the decision
For a conventional webcam with integrated sound or privacy, compare complete camera models rather than assuming this module includes those parts.
Before you decide
Does KAF68 record 4K at 30fps?
No. ELP lists its 3840×2160 MJPEG mode at 10fps; the page does not document 4K30.
Is this the same product as ELP's BL180 fisheye camera?
No. The KAF68 and BL180 suffixes identify different lens configurations; their view angles should not be combined.
Does it include a microphone or privacy cover?
ELP's KAF68 specification page does not document an integrated microphone or a physical lens cover.
Is the lens wide enough for a group room?
The maker lists about 78 degrees diagonal and 68 degrees horizontal, not a 90-degree diagonal field.
The decision for your answers
Choose KAF68 for autofocus and high-resolution UVC capture when 4K at 10fps and a separate mount/audio setup are acceptable.
Search this model on Amazon ↗Paid search link · We may earn a commission. Confirm the exact model and seller in the results.