Tech & Audio · SCENARIO ANSWER

Which compact projector suits local media with or without an outlet?

Question: For local files, should I favor the GP1's native detail, the GP70's USB/SD playback, or the P2 Jr's battery portability?

About this comparison

BenQ GP1 and Simplebeam GP70 are portable bodies but neither is documented here as battery-powered. GP1 has native 858 × 600 resolution and a USB Reader; GP70 lists 800 × 480, USB and SD playback, and nominal 1,200 lumens rather than ANSI. AAXA P2 Jr adds a rechargeable battery and onboard media player, but its native pixels are not stated and its 55-lumen figure is not ANSI. Compare the source workflow and power need rather than treating portability as a single feature.

Buyer Shortlists editorial·Updated
Research basis: This answer compares documented features for the reviewed video projectors in this guide. We have not tested these products hands-on. This article compares selected models; the interactive finder considers the full reviewed range.
THE SHORT ANSWER

What we would do

The BenQ GP1 has the higher native pixel count of the outlet-powered pair at 858 × 600, a 640 g body, and a USB Reader. Simplebeam GP70 is native 800 × 480 and adds USB/SD playback with a nominal, non-ANSI 1,200-lumen claim. AAXA P2 Jr is the battery-powered local-media option, with an onboard player and rechargeable battery, but its native resolution is unstated and its 55 lumens are not ANSI. Choose GP1 for its documented pixel count, GP70 for its card workflow, or P2 Jr when battery operation matters more than verified detail or brightness. Check file compatibility and the condition of the exact unit.

THE NEEDS BEHIND THESE PICKS

What this answer assumes

These are the needs behind this comparison. Change them in the questionnaire to get a shortlist for your own routine.

Your planCarry it between rooms or tripsMust-have
Change these answers in the finder →
SIDE BY SIDE

How each option answers the need

Must-haves exclude unsuitable options. Preferences help compare the remaining choices; unconfirmed features stay unconfirmed.

The products compared against these needs
Need or differenceAAXA Technologies P2 Jr Pico ProjectorBenQ Joybee GP1 Portable LED ProjectorSimplebeam GP70
Carry it between rooms or tripsDocumented product role · Must-haveFits
Why

The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. AAXA describes P2 Jr as a pico projector and documents rechargeable battery operation.

Fits
Why

The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. BenQ describes the 640 g GP1 as a compact projector with a carryable body.

Fits
Why

The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. Simplebeamer's exact GP70 listing classifies it as portable and gives its compact model form.

Image formatNative imager resolution not statedNative SVGA 858 × 600 DMD imageNative 800 × 480 single-panel LCD; 16:9 image
Rated light output55 lumens; not ANSIThe reviewed manual does not give an ANSI brightness figure1,200 nominal lumens; not ANSI-rated
Placement10–50-inch image; published throw values conflictApprox. 640 g body; throw ratio and battery runtime are not established0.8–4.2 m placement range; AC adapter and no documented battery

Fits: a documented match. Trade-off: a preference is not met. Needs checking: the detail is not confirmed.

THE SHORTLIST

Options to consider without a ranking

No selected preference separates these options. Read their documented differences and trade-offs before choosing.

Option to consider

AAXA Technologies P2 Jr Pico Projector

Battery pico projector with onboard local media playback

Unranked

Why it appears here

AAXA documents a rechargeable battery, onboard local media player, USB/microSD, and a small-image range.

What you give up

Native imager pixels are not stated, 55 lumens are not ANSI-labeled, and the published throw-ratio values conflict.

Image format
Native imager resolution not stated
Rated light output
55 lumens; not ANSI
Placement
10–50-inch image; published throw values conflict
AAXA P2 Jr official product page ↗ · Checked October 10, 2026
Sources for this candidate
Option to consider

BenQ Joybee GP1 Portable LED Projector

Lightweight local-media projector

Unranked

Why it appears here

BenQ documents native 858 × 600, about 640 g weight, and a USB Reader for local photo and movie files.

What you give up

It uses an external 19 V power supply, does not document internal battery operation, and has no reviewed ANSI-lumen figure.

Image format
Native SVGA 858 × 600 DMD image
Rated light output
The reviewed manual does not give an ANSI brightness figure
Placement
Approx. 640 g body; throw ratio and battery runtime are not established
BenQ GP1 official user manual ↗ · Checked October 11, 2026
Sources for this candidate
Option to consider

Simplebeam GP70

Portable WVGA projector with local playback

Unranked

Why it appears here

Simplebeamer documents a portable 800 × 480 projector with USB/SD playback and an AC adapter.

What you give up

Its 1,200-lumen statement is nominal rather than ANSI, and the source does not document internal battery operation.

Image format
Native 800 × 480 single-panel LCD; 16:9 image
Rated light output
1,200 nominal lumens; not ANSI-rated
Placement
0.8–4.2 m placement range; AC adapter and no documented battery
Simplebeamer Co., Ltd GP70 manufacturer listing ↗ · Checked October 11, 2026
Sources for this candidate
READ THE ASSUMPTIONS

What this answer does and does not decide

  • This is a curated comparison of three portable projector models, not a complete portable-projector ranking.
  • GP1 and GP70 are considered for outlet use; AAXA documents an internal rechargeable battery for P2 Jr.
  • BenQ's USB Reader, Simplebeam's USB/SD playback, and AAXA's onboard media player describe local files rather than current streaming apps.
  • GP70's 1,200-lumen figure is nominal rather than ANSI, GP1's manual gives no ANSI figure, and P2 Jr's 55 lumens are not ANSI-labeled.
  • No current listing identity, package, or condition is inferred from any model's historic candidate ASIN.

Change any answer in the interactive video projectors finder if your priorities are different. The finder opens with the same must-haves and preferences; change any choice to see how the shortlist responds.

USEFUL FOLLOW-UPS

Questions to ask before you choose

Which model has more native horizontal pixels?

BenQ GP1 is 858 pixels wide and Simplebeam GP70 is 800; their native vertical resolutions are 600 and 480 respectively.

Which models have a documented internal battery?

Only AAXA P2 Jr: AAXA documents a rechargeable battery. GP1 uses an external supply and GP70's listing specifies AC power.

Are the brightness numbers comparable as ANSI lumens?

No. GP1's manual gives no ANSI figure, GP70's 1,200 lumens are nominal, and P2 Jr's 55 lumens are not ANSI-labeled.

SOURCES & REVIEW LINKS

Check the product details

Open a full review for the complete editorial analysis, pros, cons, alternatives, and source list. The links below open the full reviews for each option in this answer.

FULL REVIEWS

Read each candidate in full

Use the full reviews below for the documented details, pros, cons, alternatives, and sources for every option in this answer. The shortlist above explains how each one fits this question.

AAXA Technologies P2 Jr Pico ProjectorRead the full review · Features, pros, cons and sources
THE FULL REVIEW · Fits your priorities

AAXA Technologies P2 Jr Pico Projector: is it right for you?

Battery pico projector with onboard local media playback.

Buyer Shortlists editorial·

Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.

IN THE CONTEXT OF YOUR ANSWERS

Fits your priorities

AAXA P2 Jr is a tiny battery projector with unusually useful local playback and connection options, but its checked official page leaves two core comparison values open. AAXA lists 55 lumens without an ANSI label and calls 1920 × 1080 the maximum input resolution; it does not state native imager pixels. The page confirms a rechargeable lithium-ion battery, an onboard media player, mini-HDMI, mini-VGA, USB, microSD, composite A/V, and a 10–50-inch image range. It gives a roughly two-hour battery claim, which is not a guarantee for an aged unit. The throw ratio appears as both 1.4 and 1.60, so it stays unresolved. Pick it for a very small, dark-room local-playback kit only when those limits are acceptable.

Carry it between rooms or tripsMust-have · Fits this answer

The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. AAXA describes P2 Jr as a pico projector and documents rechargeable battery operation.

Consider it for

Very small battery-powered local playback when portability and onboard media matter more than brightness or verified image detail.

Look elsewhere if

It is not for a known native resolution, ANSI-brightness requirement, large vivid image, streaming-app use, or placement planning that depends on one verified throw ratio.

The advantages and the compromises

Pros

  • AAXA confirms rechargeable battery operation and an onboard media player for local files.
  • The official page lists several inputs, including mini-HDMI, mini-VGA, USB, microSD, and composite A/V.
  • A 10–50-inch image range helps set a modest target for a small pico projector.

Cons

  • The 55-lumen figure is not labeled ANSI and cannot meet a hard comparable ANSI threshold.
  • Maximum 1080p input is not evidence of native 1080p imaging; native resolution remains unknown.
  • The source gives two different throw-ratio values, and its approximate runtime does not establish the health of a used battery.

The key details

Model covered
P2 Jr
Image format
Native imager resolution not stated
Rated light output
55 lumens; not ANSI
Placement
10–50-inch image; published throw values conflict

ANSI ratings appear only when a model source explicitly gives ANSI lumens. Other manufacturer light-output figures remain labeled by their original basis.

Keep input format separate from native pixels

AAXA's official page says the P2 Jr can accept a maximum 1920 × 1080 input, but it does not state the native resolution of the imager. Those are different facts: a projector can accept a high-resolution signal and scale it to a lower physical pixel grid. Because native pixels are unknown, the P2 Jr should not pass a Full HD requirement or be placed in a native-resolution ranking. This matters most for subtitles, detailed images, and small writing. A buyer who mainly values a pocketable local-player setup can still consider it, but should keep the missing native specification explicit.

Treat 55 lumens as a non-ANSI figure

AAXA gives the P2 Jr a 55-lumen output without saying that it is ANSI-rated. The profile therefore keeps comparable ANSI brightness unknown rather than converting the number. This is a very small light-output figure in a practical sense, so plan on a small image and a dark room; do not infer that the upper 50-inch size will be bright in ambient light. The surface and condition of the optical system also affect what a viewer sees. If an ANSI threshold matters, select a model with a manufacturer figure explicitly expressed in ANSI lumens and compare like with like.

Use the battery claim for portability, not endurance promises

The official page describes a rechargeable lithium-ion battery and approximately two hours of operation. That supports classifying the model as battery powered, while the time remains a manufacturer claim rather than a promise for a specific unit. Battery age and charge condition can materially change a short session. Bring the charger when playback duration matters and confirm the battery holds a charge before relying on it away from an outlet. AAXA also lists a 1 W speaker and onboard player, which can reduce the separate equipment needed for a basic local clip, but the low output and small image are not a substitute for room-filling home theater.

Plan placement around the conflicting ratio entries

AAXA's product page includes a throw ratio of 1.4 in one place and 1.60 above its distance table. Both values describe conventional rather than ultra-short-throw placement, but the disagreement means a buyer should not use either as a precise installation value. The page gives a 10–50-inch image range; test the actual distance on a wall before fixing a mount. Manual focus and the small chassis make stable placement useful. Confirm a sharp, square image at the intended size with the exact unit, and do not assume keystone or lens-shift features that the checked page does not establish.

Choose local media instead of assuming app streaming

AAXA documents an onboard media player along with mini-HDMI, mini-VGA, USB, microSD, and composite A/V. Local file playback can be helpful for a travel kit, yet a media player is not the same as a streaming-app platform. The page does not document subscription apps or wireless casting. Check file format compatibility and use an external source if streaming is part of the plan. The page also identifies an RGB LED light source, not a laser. It does not establish interactive pens or optical lens shift, so those needs should be handled by a different projector class rather than assumed from a compact design.

How the alternatives change the decision

For verified native pixels and standardized brightness, compare a larger projector with exact-model specifications; for a small local-playback device, retain P2 Jr only if its missing values are acceptable.

Before you decide

Is the P2 Jr a native 1080p projector?

AAXA lists 1920 × 1080 as maximum input resolution but does not state the native imager resolution on the checked page.

Is the P2 Jr's 55-lumen rating ANSI?

No ANSI label is attached to the page's 55-lumen figure, so it remains outside ANSI comparisons.

Which P2 Jr throw ratio should I use?

AAXA's page gives both 1.4 and 1.60; treat the exact ratio as unresolved and test placement at the desired image size.

The decision for your answers

Choose P2 Jr for compact battery operation and local media, while keeping native resolution, ANSI output, and precise throw planning open.

Open the product review →

Sources & review basis

Specifications come from the documentation below. Advice about suitability is our editorial interpretation of those features.

BenQ Joybee GP1 Portable LED ProjectorRead the full review · Features, pros, cons and sources
THE FULL REVIEW · Fits your priorities

BenQ Joybee GP1 Portable LED Projector: is it right for you?

Lightweight local-media projector.

Buyer Shortlists editorial·

Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.

IN THE CONTEXT OF YOUR ANSWERS

Fits your priorities

The GP1 is a carryable older projector for buyers who value a 640 g body and direct USB Reader playback. BenQ documents native 858 × 600 SVGA resolution, an LED light source, and support for photo and movie files from USB storage. It needs its external power supply, so its portable body does not make it cordless. The manual does not establish an ANSI brightness value; compare it as a small-image option rather than a bright-room or Full HD projector.

Carry it between rooms or tripsMust-have · Fits this answer

The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. BenQ describes the 640 g GP1 as a compact projector with a carryable body.

Consider it for

A small-room or travel use where a light body and local USB files matter more than Full HD, cordless power, or app streaming..

Look elsewhere if

It is not for battery-only travel, native HD or Full HD detail, a strict ANSI brightness threshold, HDMI-only sources, or current streaming apps.

The advantages and the compromises

Pros

  • BenQ documents an approximate 640 g weight and compact 136 × 57 × 120 mm body.
  • The USB Reader can play supported photo and movie files without a computer.
  • An LED light source avoids the replaceable projection-lamp design used in many older projectors.

Cons

  • Native 858 × 600 resolution gives less detail than WXGA, 720p, or Full HD models.
  • The manual specifies a 19 V external supply and does not document built-in battery operation.
  • Brightness is not stated as ANSI and the manual does not list an HDMI input.

The key details

Model covered
GP1
Image format
Native SVGA 858 × 600 DMD image
Rated light output
The reviewed manual does not give an ANSI brightness figure
Placement
Approx. 640 g body; throw ratio and battery runtime are not established

ANSI ratings appear only when a model source explicitly gives ANSI lumens. Other manufacturer light-output figures remain labeled by their original basis.

Relevant to your documented product role answer

A compact body does not change its SVGA image

BenQ specifies an 858 × 600 SVGA DMD, a 4:3 image, and an approximate 640 g weight. That combination makes the GP1 physically small, but its native pixel count is far below current Full HD models. Text-heavy slides, fine interface details, and subtitles will show the limits sooner than a simple photo or casual clip. The projector accepts supported video files through its USB Reader, but decoding a file does not increase the panel resolution. Set expectations around a modest image size and a room that can be darkened.

Relevant to your documented product role answer

USB playback is local media, not smart streaming

The GP1 manual describes a USB-A Reader for photo and movie files and an audio output that is available for USB Reader use. That is useful when a travel presentation or shared clip can be copied to a compatible drive. It does not document a Wi-Fi service, built-in apps, or a streaming platform. Its documented inputs include computer and analog video connections, so a modern HDMI-only laptop or streamer may need a separately checked converter path. Test the file format and storage device you plan to use before relying on it at an event.

Relevant to your documented product role answer

Plan for an outlet even when carrying it

BenQ lists a 19 V DC power supply and 60 W typical consumption; the reviewed manual does not identify an internal battery. A light projector can move easily between rooms, but this one should be planned around a nearby outlet and its correct adapter. Do not treat a third-party battery pack or an accessory bundle as part of the model unless the exact offer documents it. For outdoor use or a trip with no reliable power, shortlist a model with an explicitly built-in battery and a published runtime instead.

Brightness and throw need a direct check

The source manual gives the light source but does not provide a comparable ANSI-lumen rating in the reviewed specifications. That keeps the GP1 out of any hard ANSI threshold match. The saved manual details do not establish a throw ratio either, so measure the intended screen distance and consult the complete BenQ placement table before choosing a stand. Brightness at the screen depends on size and room light; a compact body is not evidence that the image will remain clear at a large diagonal. Keep this model for small, controlled settings unless a reliable exact-model specification supports a broader use.

The LED design reduces one maintenance question

BenQ identifies an LED light source rather than a conventional projection lamp. That avoids assuming a lamp replacement interval from a different model, but it does not prove the condition or brightness of an old unit. Check the image, focus, fan behavior, connectors, remote, and power adapter on the actual projector. The manual's audio-output note is specifically tied to USB Reader playback, so verify the chosen source and sound path instead of assuming every input uses the same audio behavior. Existing file-reading convenience is not a substitute for checking the physical ports.

Relevant to your documented product role answer

Choose it only when the simple workflow fits

The GP1 makes sense for a buyer who can carry an outlet-powered mini projector and use local USB media or compatible analog/computer inputs. It does not fit a requirement for cordless operation, native HD, a certified brightness floor, or current apps. BenQ's exact-model manual supports the identity and the features described here; it does not establish a current Amazon listing or the condition of any offered accessories. Search by the exact GP1 name, verify that the included adapter matches, and compare the projected image size with a modern portable model before choosing.

How the alternatives change the decision

For cordless use, compare a projector with a documented internal battery and runtime. For higher detail, choose a native 720p or Full HD model. For HDMI-only sources, confirm a compatible input or adapter before buying.

Before you decide

Does the GP1 have a built-in battery?

BenQ's manual lists a 19 V external power supply and does not document internal battery operation.

Can it play a file from a USB drive?

Yes. BenQ documents a USB Reader for supported photo and movie files; that is local playback, not streaming apps.

Is the GP1 native 720p?

No. The exact-model manual specifies 858 × 600 SVGA resolution, below 1280 × 720.

The decision for your answers

The GP1 trades native detail and cordless convenience for a light body and local USB playback. Its brightness and throw remain unqualified in the reviewed source set.

Open the product review →

Sources & review basis

Specifications come from the documentation below. Advice about suitability is our editorial interpretation of those features.

Simplebeam GP70Read the full review · Features, pros, cons and sources
THE FULL REVIEW · Fits your priorities

Simplebeam GP70: is it right for you?

Portable WVGA projector with local playback.

Buyer Shortlists editorial·

Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.

IN THE CONTEXT OF YOUR ANSWERS

Fits your priorities

The GP70 is a small portable projector for a simple setup where carrying size and local media matter more than image detail or cordless operation. Simplebeamer Co.'s exact-model listing specifies native 800 × 480, a white LED source, USB/SD playback, and 0.8–4.2 m placement. The stated 1,200 lumens are nominal, not ANSI. The listed AC adapter means portability describes its size and movement, not a built-in battery.

Carry it between rooms or tripsMust-have · Fits this answer

The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. Simplebeamer's exact GP70 listing classifies it as portable and gives its compact model form.

Consider it for

A compact, outlet-powered portable projector for simple local video playback where WVGA detail is sufficient.

Look elsewhere if

It is not suited to native HD detail, a measured brightness minimum, built-in streaming apps, or a setup that must work away from an outlet.

The advantages and the compromises

Pros

  • The exact manufacturer listing identifies the GP70 and its native 800 × 480 image.
  • USB and SD support local media without requiring a separate computer for every file.
  • The compact listing weight is 0.88 kg and its placement range is documented.

Cons

  • The 1,200-lumen figure is nominal and cannot be treated as ANSI output.
  • The native WVGA panel has limited detail for small text or a large image.
  • The product listing specifies AC power rather than internal battery operation.

The key details

Model covered
GP70
Image format
Native 800 × 480 single-panel LCD; 16:9 image
Rated light output
1,200 nominal lumens; not ANSI-rated
Placement
0.8–4.2 m placement range; AC adapter and no documented battery

ANSI ratings appear only when a model source explicitly gives ANSI lumens. Other manufacturer light-output figures remain labeled by their original basis.

Relevant to your documented product role answer

Portable size does not mean cordless viewing

Simplebeamer's listing calls the GP70 a portable mini projector and gives a product weight of 0.88 kg. That size can make it easier to move between a shelf and a temporary setup. The same specification block lists an AC power adapter and a built-in power module; it does not document an internal battery. Plan to have an outlet at each location. This distinction matters if the use case is a trip, outdoor viewing, or a presentation where power is not guaranteed. The projector can be carried, but the saved evidence does not support a cordless session.

Relevant to your documented product role answer

WVGA is a modest native image format

The manufacturer listing specifies physical resolution of 800 × 480 pixels and a 16:9 image. A signal described as Full HD input support does not turn that native grid into 1920 × 1080. WVGA can be adequate for casual video or a small image viewed from a distance, but subtitles, interface text, and presentation details have fewer pixels to work with. The listing's best image-size range is 30–80 inches, while its broader projection-size claim reaches farther. Treat those as manufacturer guidance, not a guarantee that the largest image remains clear or bright.

Keep the nominal lumens separate from ANSI

Simplebeamer lists 1,200 nominal lumens, but it does not label this figure ANSI or give a recognized test method. The profile therefore leaves ANSI output unknown. A lumen headline cannot establish comparable room brightness; the listing itself describes low brightness as a disadvantage. This makes the GP70 a poor choice for a room with significant ambient light or a strict minimum-output requirement. A buyer can evaluate the offered projector in its intended room, but that observation applies to the individual unit and should not be converted into a model-wide ANSI rating.

Relevant to your documented product role answer

Local playback and connections suit a simple source plan

The manufacturer describes USB and SD multimedia playback and lists HDMI, VGA, AV, and stereo audio output. That can accommodate a laptop, a compatible storage card, or some older sources. It does not establish a built-in streaming-app platform. The listing also mentions a digital TV module as optional, with different regional versions; do not assume that a tuner is part of every GP70 package. Check the file formats, exact port panel, power adapter, and any required cable before choosing the projector for a planned event. Streaming services need a separately confirmed source device.

Focus and keystone still need careful placement

The product listing describes manual focus and vertical keystone correction up to 15 degrees. It also gives a projection distance range of 0.8–4.2 meters, with a claimed 18–150-inch range and a preferred 30–80-inch image. Those figures provide a planning starting point, but they do not document an ultra-short-throw optical ratio or optical lens shift. Place the projector near square to the screen and use keystone sparingly; digital shape correction is not a substitute for a suitable lens position. Confirm the intended screen size and focus on the exact unit.

Relevant to your documented product role answer

Choose it only for the limits that fit

The GP70 is a reasonable candidate when a compact, plug-in projector with local file playback meets the need and native WVGA detail is acceptable. It is a poor match for a battery-first portable brief, native Full HD slides, an ANSI brightness requirement, or apps without an external source. Simplebeamer's product page identifies the manufacturer and model, while a separate exact-model retailer page cross-checks the resolution and LED source. Neither current stock nor the condition of a historical offer is established. Verify the GP70 label, adapter, inputs, focus, and package contents before buying.

How the alternatives change the decision

For cordless use, compare a projector with a documented internal battery. For clearer text or larger images, compare a native 720p or Full HD model with an explicit brightness method.

Before you decide

Does the GP70 have a built-in battery?

The exact listing specifies AC power and an adapter; it does not document internal battery operation.

Is its 1,200-lumen rating ANSI-tested?

No. Simplebeamer calls the output nominal lumens without giving an ANSI measurement method.

Can the GP70 display native Full HD?

The exact product listing gives native physical resolution as 800 × 480 pixels.

The decision for your answers

The GP70 offers documented compact size and local playback, but its WVGA panel, nominal output, and AC power define a narrow use case. Treat it as a portable projector that still needs an outlet.

Open the product review →

Sources & review basis

Specifications come from the documentation below. Advice about suitability is our editorial interpretation of those features.