What we would do
PUR has an 11-cup capacity and dishwasher-safe body; ZeroWater includes a handheld TDS meter and has listed lead and PFOA/PFOS claims; Kirkland includes two filters and an electronic reminder. Monterey OB50/OB06 has a 120-gallon interval, but lead remains unresolved. OB03 has a 40-gallon schedule and a light; DP01 is a compact 5-cup option whose clearest reduction claim is chlorine taste and odor.
What this answer assumes
These are the needs behind this comparison. Change them in the questionnaire to get a shortlist for your own routine.
How each option answers the need
Must-haves exclude unsuitable options. Preferences help compare the remaining choices; unconfirmed features stay unconfirmed.
| Need or difference | PUR PUR PLUS 11-cup pitcher with lead-reducing filter | Kirkland Signature 10-cup filtered water pitcher | ZeroWater 10-cup pitcher with TDS meter | Brita Monterey pitcher with Standard filter | Brita Monterey pitcher with LONGLAST filter | Membrane Solutions 5-cup mini water filter pitcher |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prefer at least 10 cupsAt least 10 cups · High-priority preference | FitsWhyIts documented pitcher capacity meets 10 cups. | FitsWhyIts documented pitcher capacity meets 10 cups. | FitsWhyIts documented pitcher capacity meets 10 cups. | Needs checkingWhyThe pitcher capacity is not confirmed for this model configuration. | Needs checkingWhyThe pitcher capacity is not confirmed for this model configuration. | Trade-offWhyIts documented pitcher capacity is under 10 cups. The same page lists 1.2 L. |
| Prefer a documented claimDocumented lead reduction · High-priority preference | FitsWhyThe manufacturer documents lead reduction for this filter system. | Trade-offWhyThe manufacturer does not document lead reduction for this filter system. Costco's listed performance claims do not include lead reduction; this is a missing documented claim, not evidence of a measured zero reduction. | FitsWhyThe manufacturer documents lead reduction for this filter system. | Trade-offWhyThe manufacturer does not document lead reduction for this filter system. | Needs checkingWhyLead reduction is not confirmed for this filter system. | Needs checkingWhyLead reduction is not confirmed for this filter system. |
| Prefer a documented claimChlorine taste and odor reduction · High-priority preference | FitsWhyThe manufacturer documents chlorine taste and odor reduction. | FitsWhyThe manufacturer documents chlorine taste and odor reduction. | FitsWhyThe manufacturer documents chlorine taste and odor reduction. | FitsWhyThe manufacturer documents chlorine taste and odor reduction. | FitsWhyThe manufacturer documents chlorine taste and odor reduction. | FitsWhyThe manufacturer documents chlorine taste and odor reduction. |
| Prefer a 40-gallon targetAt least 40 gallons per filter · High-priority preference | FitsWhyIts documented replacement guidance reaches 40 gallons. | Trade-offWhyIts documented replacement guidance is below 40 gallons. Calculated conversion of Costco's stated 150 liters to approximately 39.6 US gallons; the manufacturer-facing product page states 150 liters. | Needs checkingWhyA fixed 40-gallon replacement target is not confirmed. | FitsWhyIts documented replacement guidance reaches 40 gallons. | FitsWhyIts documented replacement guidance reaches 40 gallons. | FitsWhyIts documented replacement guidance reaches 40 gallons. |
| Prefer two months or lessTwo months or less · High-priority preference | FitsWhyIts documented interval is two months or less. PUR describes this as up to two months of use. | FitsWhyIts documented interval is two months or less. Costco says up to two months per filter. | Needs checkingWhyA calendar-based replacement interval is not confirmed. | FitsWhyIts documented interval is two months or less. Brita describes this as about two months for an average family. | Trade-offWhyIts documented interval is longer than two months. Brita describes approximately six months for an average family. | Trade-offWhyIts documented interval is longer than two months. The page calls four months an average filter life. |
| Prefer dishwasher-safe partsDishwasher-safe pitcher · High-priority preference | FitsWhyThe manufacturer says the pitcher is dishwasher safe. | Needs checkingWhyDishwasher safety is not confirmed. | Trade-offWhyThe manufacturer says to hand-wash the pitcher. | Trade-offWhyThe manufacturer says to hand-wash the pitcher. | Trade-offWhyThe manufacturer says to hand-wash the pitcher. | Needs checkingWhyDishwasher safety is not confirmed. |
| Model and compatible filter | PPT111 family: white PPT111W, smoke PPT111B, or sage PPT111M | Kirkland Signature model 1304047; the replacement cartridge model code is not stated. | ZP-010 10-cup pitcher | OB50 Monterey pitcher with OB03 Standard filter, per Brita guide | Brita's LONGLAST guide pairs Monterey pitcher OB50 with OB06; current performance materials call the OB06 filter Elite. | DP01 5-cup pitcher; the exact replacement-filter model code is not stated. |
| Pitcher capacity | 11 cups; manufacturer lists W 11.4 × H 10.4 × L 4.9 inches | 10 cups; Costco lists 10.04-inch height and 5.91-inch width but does not state depth. | 10 cups | Not verified for this exact historical listing; its source title says 10 cups | The historical row title says 10 cups, but the reviewed manufacturer sources do not verify capacity for that exact listing. | 5 cups (1.2 L); listed dimensions are 10.4 H × 2.8 W × 7.1 D inches and weight is 1 pound. |
| Documented filter maintenance | One PUR PLUS PPF951K filter; up to 40 gallons or two months | Two cartridges are included; Costco says each lasts up to two months or 150 liters (about 39.6 US gallons). | Filter life depends on source-water TDS; no fixed replacement volume or month count is guaranteed | Replace OB03 every 40 gallons, about two months for an average family | Replace OB06 after 120 gallons (about six months for an average family); Brita advises processing no more than 2 gallons daily. | The maker claims 40 gallons per filter and an average four-month life. |
| Maintenance monitor | Pitcher filter-change light; its sealed battery is not replaceable | An electronic cartridge reminder is documented; the page does not describe it as a water-quality test. | Includes handheld TDS meter; manufacturer says replace at a reading of 006 or higher | Volumetric filter-change indicator on Monterey model family | A dual-mode fill-count indicator can be set for LONGLAST; it is not a handheld TDS meter. | No filter-change monitor is documented on the product page. |
| Care and handling | Manufacturer says pitcher is dishwasher safe and allows pouring while filtering | The source does not specify dishwasher care or a maximum water temperature. | Hand-wash; do not put device in dishwasher | Hand-wash; manufacturer says not to put pitcher in dishwasher | Hand-wash only; Brita says not to use a dishwasher and gives 85°F as the maximum water temperature. | The source does not specify dishwasher care or a maximum water temperature. |
| Documented reduction and certification scope | IAPMO lead and microplastics claims; data sheet lists NSF/ANSI 42, 53, and 401 claims | Costco lists WQA certification to NSF/ANSI 42, 53, and 401 for named claims; its list does not include lead, PFOA/PFOS, or microplastics reduction. | IAPMO R&T system certification to NSF/ANSI 42 and 53 for listed claims, based on 15-gallon capacity | WQA certified to NSF/ANSI 42 and 53 for the claims listed on the OB03 data sheet; no documented lead reduction | The current OB06 sheet reports chlorine, mercury, and other listed reductions but its lead-certification note omits OB50; lead remains unresolved against the older footnote. | Chlorine taste and odor appears in the structured claim field; broader prose claims conflict, and no NSF/ANSI certification is stated. |
Fits: a documented match. Trade-off: a preference is not met. Needs checking: the detail is not confirmed.
The closest fit for this question
Start here for the needs above. Read the advantages and compromises before deciding which one suits you.
PUR PUR PLUS 11-cup pitcher with lead-reducing filter
An 11-cup pitcher with a documented lead and microplastics claim, filter light, and dishwasher-safe parts.
Why it appears here
PUR documents 11 cups, the PPT111 family, chlorine reduction, a 40-gallon or up-to-two-month filter interval, a pitcher light, and dishwasher-safe cleaning.
What you give up
The Amazon family mapping for row 117 remains unverified, and PUR says the indicator battery is sealed and the filter does not filter microbes.
- Model and compatible filter
- PPT111 family: white PPT111W, smoke PPT111B, or sage PPT111M
- Pitcher capacity
- 11 cups; manufacturer lists W 11.4 × H 10.4 × L 4.9 inches
- Documented filter maintenance
- One PUR PLUS PPF951K filter; up to 40 gallons or two months
- Maintenance monitor
- Pitcher filter-change light; its sealed battery is not replaceable
- Care and handling
- Manufacturer says pitcher is dishwasher safe and allows pouring while filtering
- Documented reduction and certification scope
- IAPMO lead and microplastics claims; data sheet lists NSF/ANSI 42, 53, and 401 claims
Sources for this candidate
- PUR PLUS 11-cup pitcher product page ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
- PUR pitcher filter performance data sheet ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
- PUR pitcher support and model list ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
Trade-offs that may suit a different routine
These alternatives meet the essentials and make different compromises. They may suit you better if your preferences change.
Kirkland Signature 10-cup filtered water pitcher
A documented 10-cup pitcher with two filters and an electronic cartridge reminder; the exact old Amazon parent remains unresolved.
Why it appears here
Costco documents a 10-cup pitcher, two filters, chlorine taste-and-odor claims, an electronic reminder, and an up-to-two-month or 150-liter replacement interval.
What you give up
The product page does not list lead or PFOA/PFOS claims, establish dishwasher care, or map the old Amazon parent to model 1304047.
Check before relying on it
- Dishwasher safety is not confirmed.
- Model and compatible filter
- Kirkland Signature model 1304047; the replacement cartridge model code is not stated.
- Pitcher capacity
- 10 cups; Costco lists 10.04-inch height and 5.91-inch width but does not state depth.
- Documented filter maintenance
- Two cartridges are included; Costco says each lasts up to two months or 150 liters (about 39.6 US gallons).
- Maintenance monitor
- An electronic cartridge reminder is documented; the page does not describe it as a water-quality test.
- Care and handling
- The source does not specify dishwasher care or a maximum water temperature.
- Documented reduction and certification scope
- Costco lists WQA certification to NSF/ANSI 42, 53, and 401 for named claims; its list does not include lead, PFOA/PFOS, or microplastics reduction.
Sources for this candidate
- Costco Kirkland Signature Filtered Water Pitcher ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
- Kirkland Signature Filtered Water Pitcher, model 1304047 ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
ZeroWater 10-cup pitcher with TDS meter
A five-stage pitcher with a handheld TDS meter and specific lead and PFOA/PFOS claims.
Why it appears here
ZeroWater documents a 10-cup ZP-010, an included TDS meter, five-stage filtration, and listed lead and PFOA/PFOS reduction claims.
What you give up
Filter life depends on source-water TDS and requires meter checks; the body is hand-wash only, and its extra historical filter bundle is not confirmed.
Check before relying on it
- A fixed 40-gallon replacement target is not confirmed.
- A calendar-based replacement interval is not confirmed.
- Model and compatible filter
- ZP-010 10-cup pitcher
- Pitcher capacity
- 10 cups
- Documented filter maintenance
- Filter life depends on source-water TDS; no fixed replacement volume or month count is guaranteed
- Maintenance monitor
- Includes handheld TDS meter; manufacturer says replace at a reading of 006 or higher
- Care and handling
- Hand-wash; do not put device in dishwasher
- Documented reduction and certification scope
- IAPMO R&T system certification to NSF/ANSI 42 and 53 for listed claims, based on 15-gallon capacity
Sources for this candidate
- ZeroWater 10-cup ZP-010 pitcher product page ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
- ZeroWater water-filtration system FAQs ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
- ZeroWater filter replacement guidance ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
- ZeroWater pitcher and dispenser collection ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
Brita Monterey pitcher with Standard filter
A documented Standard-filter option for chlorine taste and odor, with an unresolved historical capacity and package.
Why it appears here
Brita documents the OB50/OB03 model pairing, 95% chlorine reduction under stated test conditions, a volumetric indicator, and a 40-gallon or approximately two-month filter change target.
What you give up
The Standard filter has no documented lead-reduction claim; the historical blue color, 10-cup capacity, two-filter bundle, and Amazon parent remain unresolved, and the pitcher is hand-wash only.
Check before relying on it
- The pitcher capacity is not confirmed for this model configuration.
- Model and compatible filter
- OB50 Monterey pitcher with OB03 Standard filter, per Brita guide
- Pitcher capacity
- Not verified for this exact historical listing; its source title says 10 cups
- Documented filter maintenance
- Replace OB03 every 40 gallons, about two months for an average family
- Maintenance monitor
- Volumetric filter-change indicator on Monterey model family
- Care and handling
- Hand-wash; manufacturer says not to put pitcher in dishwasher
- Documented reduction and certification scope
- WQA certified to NSF/ANSI 42 and 53 for the claims listed on the OB03 data sheet; no documented lead reduction
Sources for this candidate
- Brita Pitcher and Dispenser User's Guide ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
- Brita Standard Filter Performance Data Sheet ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
- Brita filter and contaminant comparison ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
Brita Monterey pitcher with LONGLAST filter
A longer replacement interval and broader documented claims, with a historical lead-certification conflict to keep visible.
Why it appears here
Brita's guide pairs Monterey OB50 with the OB06 filter; Brita documents a 120-gallon interval, a fill-count indicator, and chlorine reduction.
What you give up
The current OB06 lead-certification note omits OB50 despite an older broader footnote; historical capacity, blue finish, parent, and bundle remain unverified.
Check before relying on it
- The pitcher capacity is not confirmed for this model configuration.
- Lead reduction is not confirmed for this filter system.
- Model and compatible filter
- Brita's LONGLAST guide pairs Monterey pitcher OB50 with OB06; current performance materials call the OB06 filter Elite.
- Pitcher capacity
- The historical row title says 10 cups, but the reviewed manufacturer sources do not verify capacity for that exact listing.
- Documented filter maintenance
- Replace OB06 after 120 gallons (about six months for an average family); Brita advises processing no more than 2 gallons daily.
- Maintenance monitor
- A dual-mode fill-count indicator can be set for LONGLAST; it is not a handheld TDS meter.
- Care and handling
- Hand-wash only; Brita says not to use a dishwasher and gives 85°F as the maximum water temperature.
- Documented reduction and certification scope
- The current OB06 sheet reports chlorine, mercury, and other listed reductions but its lead-certification note omits OB50; lead remains unresolved against the older footnote.
Sources for this candidate
- Brita LONGLAST Filter User Guide and Performance Data Sheet ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
- Getting Started with Your LONGLAST Filter (OB06) ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
- Brita Elite Filter Performance Data Sheet (OB06) ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
- Brita Replacement Filter FAQ ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
Membrane Solutions 5-cup mini water filter pitcher
A compact, documented 5-cup model with a 40-gallon filter claim; the maker's page is inconsistent about product type and reduction detail.
Why it appears here
The manufacturer identifies DP01 as a 5-cup/1.2 L pitcher and documents chlorine taste-and-odor reduction, a 40-gallon filter claim, and a four-month average.
What you give up
The same page's broader contaminant prose conflicts with its structured claim field and labels the product type as a shower filter; the old blue finish and Amazon parent remain unverified.
Check before relying on it
- Lead reduction is not confirmed for this filter system.
- Dishwasher safety is not confirmed.
- Model and compatible filter
- DP01 5-cup pitcher; the exact replacement-filter model code is not stated.
- Pitcher capacity
- 5 cups (1.2 L); listed dimensions are 10.4 H × 2.8 W × 7.1 D inches and weight is 1 pound.
- Documented filter maintenance
- The maker claims 40 gallons per filter and an average four-month life.
- Maintenance monitor
- No filter-change monitor is documented on the product page.
- Care and handling
- The source does not specify dishwasher care or a maximum water temperature.
- Documented reduction and certification scope
- Chlorine taste and odor appears in the structured claim field; broader prose claims conflict, and no NSF/ANSI certification is stated.
Sources for this candidate
- Membrane Solutions DP01 Water Filter Pitcher ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
- Membrane Solutions DP01 5-Cup Water Filter Pitcher product page ↗ · Checked October 15, 2026
What this answer does and does not decide
- The shopper wants a pour-through pitcher for water whose source quality is already suitable for drinking without disinfection.
- Chlorine taste and odor matter, but no contaminant reduction beyond the selected model-specific claims is assumed.
Change any answer in the interactive pitcher water filters finder if your priorities are different. The finder opens with the same must-haves and preferences; change any choice to see how the shortlist responds.
Questions to ask before you choose
Do you require a specific contaminant-reduction claim?
Use the technical questions to require only the claim named in the manufacturer's current performance documentation.
Would you rather use a light or a handheld meter to monitor changes?
The filter monitor question distinguishes pitcher lights from the ZeroWater handheld TDS meter; a TDS reading is not an item-by-item contaminant test.
Check the product details
Open a full review for the complete editorial analysis, pros, cons, alternatives, and source list. The links below open the full reviews for each option in this answer.
- PUR PUR PLUS 11-cup pitcher with lead-reducing filter full review ↗
- Kirkland Signature 10-cup filtered water pitcher full review ↗
- ZeroWater 10-cup pitcher with TDS meter full review ↗
- Brita Monterey pitcher with Standard filter full review ↗
- Brita Monterey pitcher with LONGLAST filter full review ↗
- Membrane Solutions 5-cup mini water filter pitcher full review ↗
Read each candidate in full
Use the full reviews below for the documented details, pros, cons, alternatives, and sources for every option in this answer. The shortlist above explains how each one fits this question.
Browse all scenario answers → · Adjust this shortlist in the finder →