What we would do
If native panel resolution is essential, compare JVC DLA-NX5, Sony VPL-VW665ES, and Sony VPL-XW5000ES: their manufacturers document 4096 × 2160 or 3840 × 2160 imaging. The JVC and VW665ES use lamps; the XW5000ES uses a laser and has a 2000-lumen figure that Sony does not label ANSI. All use conventional placement, so measure the throw distance and screen before choosing. If the projector must sit near the screen wall and integrated apps matter, the LG HU715QW is the UST option here. LG's owner manual says its 3840 × 2160 4K UHD image is projected through XPR; it does not establish the native pixel count of the imaging device. Choose it for the close-wall layout and documented output, not as a verified native-pixel match.
What this answer assumes
These are the needs behind this comparison. Change them in the questionnaire to get a shortlist for your own routine.
How each option answers the need
“Fits” means the reviewed option has the documented feature. “Trade-off” means it does not. “Needs checking” means the source does not confirm the detail for this setting. Must-haves are applied before the remaining candidates are ordered by preferences.
| Need or preference | JVC DLA-NX5 | LG CineBeam HU715QW | Sony VPL-VW665ES | Sony VPL-XW5000ES |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Movies and shows at homeDocumented product role · Must-have | FitsThe saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. | FitsThe saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. LG markets the HU715QW as a 4K home-cinema projector. | FitsThe saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. Sony specifies the VPL-VW665ES as a home-cinema projector. | FitsThe saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. Sony specifies the VPL-XW5000ES as a home-cinema projector. |
Compare the documented features against your priorities, then read the reviews for the practical trade-offs.
Options to consider without a ranking
No selected preference separates these options. Read their documented differences and trade-offs before choosing.
The DLA-NX5 belongs on a shortlist when the buyer specifically wants a documented native 4K imaging device and has a room for a conventional installed projector. JVC's motorized lens shift and zoom can help with setup, but the exact used unit needs an optical and lamp inspection.
Why it appears here
[JVC's DLA-NX5 model material](https://www.jvc.com/usa/projectors/procision/dla-nx5/) documents three native 4096 × 2160 D-ILA devices for a conventional home-cinema installation.
What you give up
The NX5 is a lamp model, and its 1800-lumen figure is not labeled ANSI. Inspect lamp hours, panels, lens, and alignment on a used unit.
Documented matches
- The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected.
From the full review
- JVC documents three native 4096 × 2160 D-ILA devices.
- A motorized 2× lens and lens shift provide broad installation adjustment.
Also weigh
- The 1800-lumen figure is not labeled ANSI in the cited model page.
- The model uses a lamp; remaining hours and panel condition are unit-specific.
- Image format
- Native 4096 × 2160 D-ILA
- Rated light output
- 1800 lumens; ANSI basis not specified
- Placement
- Conventional installation; motorized lens shift
Sources for this candidate
- JVC DLA-NX5 archived official model page and brochure ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- JVC DLA-NX5 archived model page ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- JVC DLA-NX5 official brochure ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
The LG CineBeam HU715QW is a fixed-room 4K UHD laser projector for buyers who want the projector close to the screen rather than mounted across the room. LG specifies 0.22:1 ultra-short-throw optics, up to 2500 ANSI lumens, and webOS 6.0. Its geometry and room role are clear, but it requires exact measuring before purchase.
Why it appears here
[LG's product page](https://www.lg.com/us/projectors/lg-hu715qw-4k-laser-projector) documents a 0.22:1 UST lens, 2500 ANSI lumens, and webOS 6.0; [its owner manual](https://gscs-b2c.lge.com/open/downloadFile?fileId=Vwkbnxe4i18CTG6lw1A3g) specifies 4K UHD output projected through XPR.
What you give up
The official manual does not establish the underlying imager's native pixel count, so this model does not satisfy a native-4K hard filter. Its fixed close-wall geometry also requires careful measuring.
Documented matches
- The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. LG markets the HU715QW as a 4K home-cinema projector.
From the full review
- LG specifies 4K UHD 3840 × 2160 resolution and a 0.22:1 ultra-short-throw ratio.
- The 2500 ANSI-lumen rating is stated using an ANSI basis rather than an unspecified lumen figure.
Also weigh
- An ultra-short-throw projector must be carefully aligned with the wall, screen, and supporting furniture.
- The fixed-lens placement does not offer the room-placement flexibility of a zoomed conventional projector.
- Image format
- 4K UHD 3840 × 2160 DLP
- Rated light output
- Up to 2500 ANSI lumens, per LG's product specification
- Placement
- 0.22:1 ultra-short throw; 80–120-inch image range; webOS 6.0
Sources for this candidate
- LG official HU715QW product specifications ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- LG US HU715QW official product page ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- LG official HU715QW technical specification page ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- LG HU715QW owner manual; resolution note identifies XPR output ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
The Sony VPL-VW665ES is a dedicated lamp-based home theater projector with a documented 4K SXRD system and powered lens controls. It suits a permanent cinema room where those installation features matter, but its unstandardized 1800-lumen figure and the condition of any used lamp must be kept visible.
Why it appears here
[Sony's VPL-VW665ES specifications](https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-projectors/vpl-vw665es/specifications) list native 4096 × 2160 SXRD imaging, powered zoom, and vertical and horizontal lens shift for a conventional-throw theater setup.
What you give up
It uses a high-pressure mercury lamp, and the saved Sony specification does not provide a comparable ANSI-lumen rating.
Documented matches
- The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. Sony specifies the VPL-VW665ES as a home-cinema projector.
From the full review
- Sony documents 4096 × 2160 effective pixels across a 4K SXRD projection system.
- Powered 2.06× zoom and focus plus extensive powered lens shift help with permanent room alignment.
Also weigh
- Sony's 1800-lumen figure is not labeled ANSI and cannot be used for an ANSI threshold.
- The 280 W high-pressure mercury lamp is a consumable, and remaining life is unknown for any used unit.
- Image format
- 4K SXRD system with 4096 × 2160 effective pixels
- Rated light output
- 1800 lumens in high lamp mode; not labeled ANSI
- Placement
- Powered 2.06× zoom/focus, powered lens shift, 60–300-inch screen range
Sources for this candidate
- Sony official VPL-VW665ES specifications ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- Sony official VPL-VW665ES specification page ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- Sony official VPL-VW665ES support and manual page ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
The Sony VPL-XW5000ES is a dedicated home-cinema projector with native 4K SXRD pixels and a laser light source. Sony also gives a conventional throw range and manual lens controls, making room measurement central. Its 2000-lumen specification is not ANSI, and the model should be paired with an external source and sound system.
Why it appears here
[Sony's VPL-XW5000ES specifications](https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-projectors/vpl-xw5000es/specifications) list native 3840 × 2160 SXRD resolution, a laser diode light source, and manual lens shift.
What you give up
Its 2000-lumen rating is not labeled ANSI, and its 1.38–2.21:1 throw range requires more room than the LG UST installation.
Documented matches
- The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. Sony specifies the VPL-XW5000ES as a home-cinema projector.
From the full review
- Sony documents 3840 × 2160 effective pixels across its native 4K SXRD imaging system.
- The laser light source and 2000-lumen model output are specified by Sony.
Also weigh
- Sony lists 2000 lumens without labeling the figure ANSI.
- The projector has no documented consumer streaming operating system or built-in speaker.
- Image format
- Native 3840 × 2160 4K SXRD laser system
- Rated light output
- 2000 lumens; Sony does not label the figure ANSI
- Placement
- 1.38–2.21:1 throw, manual 1.6× zoom/focus and manual lens shift
Sources for this candidate
- Sony official VPL-XW5000ES specifications ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- Sony official VPL-XW5000ES specifications ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
- Sony official support and manual page for VPL-XW5000ES ↗ · Checked October 4, 2026
Read each candidate in full
Use the full reviews below for the documented details, pros, cons, alternatives, and sources for every option in this answer. The shortlist above explains how each one fits this question.
JVC DLA-NX5: is it right for you?
Native 4K D-ILA for a planned theater.
Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.
Fits your priorities
The DLA-NX5 belongs on a shortlist when the buyer specifically wants a documented native 4K imaging device and has a room for a conventional installed projector. JVC's motorized lens shift and zoom can help with setup, but the exact used unit needs an optical and lamp inspection.
The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected.
Dedicated home theater where native 4K and lens placement controls matter.
It is not a portable option, a close-to-wall ultra-short-throw design, or the most straightforward choice for someone who needs a current smart-TV platform or a verified ANSI brightness figure.
The advantages and the compromises
Pros
- JVC documents three native 4096 × 2160 D-ILA devices.
- A motorized 2× lens and lens shift provide broad installation adjustment.
- HDR10 Auto Tone Mapping and HLG support are specified by JVC.
Cons
- The 1800-lumen figure is not labeled ANSI in the cited model page.
- The model uses a lamp; remaining hours and panel condition are unit-specific.
- The saved Amazon exact-model page showed no featured offer at its check.
The key details
- Model covered
- DLA-NX5
- Image format
- Native 4096 × 2160 D-ILA
- Rated light output
- 1800 lumens; ANSI basis not specified
- Placement
- Conventional installation; motorized lens shift
ANSI ratings appear only when a model source explicitly gives ANSI lumens. Other manufacturer light-output figures remain labeled by their original basis.
Native 4K is the defining reason to consider it
JVC identifies three 0.69-inch D-ILA devices with a native 4096 × 2160 resolution. That makes the NX5 distinct from models whose 4K UHD image is created by pixel displacement from a lower-resolution DMD, such as the BenQ TK850 or LG HU70LAB. It is a useful distinction only if native imaging resolution matters to the buyer; it does not by itself establish a subjective picture-quality ranking. For a detailed home theater where 4K sources are central, the published device specification gives the NX5 a clear place in the comparison.
Lens shift turns room planning into a real advantage
The NX5 uses a motorized 2× lens and JVC lists substantial vertical and horizontal lens shift. Those controls offer an installer more choices about where the projector can sit while the image stays aligned, which can be valuable in a dedicated room with seating, beams, or a fixed screen. They do not remove the need to check throw distance, lens memory, mount clearance, and screen dimensions. A projector with this level of adjustment still belongs in a planned installation rather than an improvised tabletop setup.
Keep the brightness rating in its stated units
JVC lists 1800 lumens and a 40,000:1 native contrast ratio, with dynamic contrast stated separately. The page does not label the output figure as ANSI, so the matching profile leaves the ANSI-lumen attribute unknown. That keeps the comparison fair against products whose manufacturers explicitly use ANSI, including the BenQ TK850. Brightness requirements should be checked against the actual screen size, gain, room light, and image mode. A published model rating cannot report the light output of an individual used projector or the condition of its optical path.
HDR processing and connections serve a theater source chain
JVC describes HDR10 Auto Tone Mapping and HLG compatibility, along with two HDMI inputs that support current-for-the-model 18 Gbps signals and HDCP 2.2. Those features give the NX5 a documented way to handle HDR10 and compatible 4K sources. The model also uses an NSH lamp rated for about 4500 hours in low mode. A lamp-hour counter, if present, is only one part of a used-unit inspection; check focus across the image, dust, panel convergence, fans, remote, and HDMI handshakes with your own source equipment.
This is a used-installation decision
JVC marks the NX5 archived, and the product link here searches the exact model name rather than asserting a current offer. Ask for the projector's serial/model plate, lamp hours, lens and mount accessories, service history, and a full-resolution image sample before considering a specific unit. The 1800-lumen rating and long lamp-life estimate describe the model, not the years of use or remaining life of that unit.
When native resolution outweighs convenience
Choose the NX5 if native 4K and flexible lens installation are firm priorities and a conventional projector can be accommodated. If the room requires close-to-wall placement, the Hisense PX1-PRO and Epson LS500 are the relevant UST alternatives, though neither is described here as having native 4K imaging. If a manufacturer-labeled ANSI output figure matters more, compare the BenQ TK850 and accept its XPR approach. This is a model-fit recommendation based on source specifications, not a claim that the NX5 has been viewed or measured by this guide.
How the alternatives change the decision
The BenQ TK850 produces 4K UHD with XPR and lists 3000 ANSI lumens in a conventional smaller installation. The Hisense PX1-PRO and Epson LS500 suit a close-to-wall setup but are not identified here as native 4K imaging devices.
Before you decide
Is the DLA-NX5 native 4K?
Yes. JVC identifies three native 4096 × 2160 D-ILA devices in the model specification.
Is 1800 lumens an ANSI rating?
The cited JVC page says 1800 lm without an ANSI label, so the ANSI matching attribute stays unknown.
What should I inspect on a used NX5?
Check lamp hours, focus across the image, dust, panel convergence, ports, lens condition, and included accessories on the exact unit.
The decision for your answers
The DLA-NX5 is the native-4K installation option in this batch. Its main trade-offs are a lamp-based used-unit purchase, a non-ANSI-labeled brightness figure, and the space needed for a conventional lens.
Sources & review basis
Specifications come from the documentation below. Advice about suitability is our editorial interpretation of those features.
- JVC DLA-NX5 archived official model page and brochure ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- JVC DLA-NX5 archived model page ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- JVC DLA-NX5 official brochure ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
LG CineBeam HU715QW: is it right for you?
4K laser ultra-short-throw with webOS.
Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.
Fits your priorities
The LG CineBeam HU715QW is a fixed-room 4K UHD laser projector for buyers who want the projector close to the screen rather than mounted across the room. LG specifies 0.22:1 ultra-short-throw optics, up to 2500 ANSI lumens, and webOS 6.0. Its geometry and room role are clear, but it requires exact measuring before purchase.
The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. LG markets the HU715QW as a 4K home-cinema projector.
A fixed living-room or media-room installation where the projector must sit close to the screen and built-in apps are useful.
It is not a portable projector, and it is not a good choice for a room whose screen wall, console depth, or image size has not been measured.
The advantages and the compromises
Pros
- LG specifies 4K UHD 3840 × 2160 resolution and a 0.22:1 ultra-short-throw ratio.
- The 2500 ANSI-lumen rating is stated using an ANSI basis rather than an unspecified lumen figure.
- webOS 6.0 provides an integrated platform, with internet access and service support still required.
Cons
- An ultra-short-throw projector must be carefully aligned with the wall, screen, and supporting furniture.
- The fixed-lens placement does not offer the room-placement flexibility of a zoomed conventional projector.
- Current app availability and the condition of a particular historical offer are not established by the model page.
The key details
- Model covered
- HU715QW
- Image format
- 4K UHD 3840 × 2160 DLP
- Rated light output
- Up to 2500 ANSI lumens, per LG's product specification
- Placement
- 0.22:1 ultra-short throw; 80–120-inch image range; webOS 6.0
ANSI ratings appear only when a model source explicitly gives ANSI lumens. Other manufacturer light-output figures remain labeled by their original basis.
Designed for a close-wall home installation
LG presents the HU715QW as a CineBeam home projector with an ultra-short-throw lens. Its 0.22:1 throw ratio and stated 80-to-120-inch range make it a candidate for a low cabinet near the screen wall, where a conventional projector might otherwise hang behind the seating. That placement can reduce ceiling installation needs, but it also makes setup sensitive to the furniture's depth, the wall surface, and vertical alignment. Measure the intended diagonal and follow LG's placement chart before choosing a cabinet. A short throw does not mean every console or screen combination will fit.
4K UHD output uses XPR; native imager pixels remain unknown
LG's HU715QW manual specifies a 3840 × 2160 4K UHD image with 8.3 million discrete pixels projected through XPR (Expanded Pixel Resolution). That establishes 4K UHD output, but it does not establish the native horizontal pixel count of the underlying imaging device. The finder therefore leaves native panel resolution unknown rather than treating the projected output grid as native pixels. Buyers can still compare the HU715QW's documented 4K UHD output with native-resolution models, while keeping those specifications distinct. The source-based review does not claim a measured comparison or a particular used unit's performance.
A documented ANSI rating helps comparisons
LG states up to 2500 ANSI lumens for the HU715QW. This is more useful for category matching than a raw lumen claim without a method, although the word up to matters: the figure describes the manufacturer's rating under its conditions, not every picture mode or a used device's present output. Room light, screen size, and image settings still affect the result. A dedicated cinema room may prefer image modes that trade brightness for picture characteristics, while a room with some ambient light places more value on output. Do not turn the rating into a guarantee of daylight performance.
Streaming is integrated, but service access can change
LG identifies webOS 6.0 as the HU715QW's platform and lists built-in content services and wireless sharing features. That supports an integrated-app profile rather than requiring a streaming stick as the default path. An internet connection and subscriptions remain necessary, and individual services can change support over time. Buyers who depend on one app should check its current compatibility before purchase. The platform is one part of the setup; a separate receiver or audio system may still be desirable, and model-level platform documentation does not prove that a used unit's firmware or remote is in working order.
The fixed optical design rewards accurate measuring
LG's technical material describes a 0.22 ratio and a fixed zoom, with an 80-to-120-inch range. This is very different from a conventional projector whose zoom can adapt to several throw distances. A small placement error can move the image edge noticeably, so measure the lens position and screen area before installation, then allow room to adjust the cabinet. Digital edge or keystone corrections are not a substitute for correct geometry. The saved material does not document optical lens shift, so this profile leaves lens shift unscored rather than assuming it from the digital alignment tools.
Check the actual unit and app setup before buying
The manufacturer sources establish model features, not current stock, offer contents, or the condition of a historical candidate listing. For a used HU715QW, inspect the laser image for even focus and color, verify that the remote responds, and confirm Wi-Fi or wired network access if apps matter. Check the exact model suffix and power cord, and make sure the cabinet can hold the chassis with safe ventilation. The laser source avoids a replaceable lamp, but does not make a used projector maintenance-free. A buyer still needs to verify image uniformity, ports, network connection, and the intended streaming services.
How the alternatives change the decision
For a conventional throw and native 4K SXRD imaging, compare Sony VPL-XW5000ES, which has a 2000-lumen figure not labeled ANSI and requires a longer installation distance. For a less expensive low-light portable category, see NexiGo PJ06.
Before you decide
How close does the HU715QW sit to the wall?
LG lists a 0.22:1 throw ratio and an 80-to-120-inch image range; use its placement chart for the exact screen and cabinet.
Does it have built-in streaming apps?
LG lists webOS 6.0, but each service still needs internet access and may change compatibility over time.
Is the 2500-lumen figure ANSI?
Yes. LG's product specification labels the HU715QW figure as up to 2500 ANSI lumens.
The decision for your answers
The HU715QW is a close-wall 4K model with a clear UST and app profile; exact furniture, screen, and app checks should come before purchase.
Sources & review basis
Specifications come from the documentation below. Advice about suitability is our editorial interpretation of those features.
- LG official HU715QW product specifications ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- LG US HU715QW official product page ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- LG official HU715QW technical specification page ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- LG HU715QW owner manual; resolution note identifies XPR output ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
Sony VPL-VW665ES: is it right for you?
Lamp-based native 4K SXRD home cinema.
Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.
Fits your priorities
The Sony VPL-VW665ES is a dedicated lamp-based home theater projector with a documented 4K SXRD system and powered lens controls. It suits a permanent cinema room where those installation features matter, but its unstandardized 1800-lumen figure and the condition of any used lamp must be kept visible.
The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. Sony specifies the VPL-VW665ES as a home-cinema projector.
A fixed home theater where 4K SXRD detail and powered lens placement justify a lamp-based installation.
It is not a portable or smart-TV replacement, and it is a poor fit if you require an ANSI-labeled brightness figure, native app support, or a current verified listing.
The advantages and the compromises
Pros
- Sony documents 4096 × 2160 effective pixels across a 4K SXRD projection system.
- Powered 2.06× zoom and focus plus extensive powered lens shift help with permanent room alignment.
- Sony specifies an image range from 60 to 300 inches and two HDMI inputs.
Cons
- Sony's 1800-lumen figure is not labeled ANSI and cannot be used for an ANSI threshold.
- The 280 W high-pressure mercury lamp is a consumable, and remaining life is unknown for any used unit.
- The manufacturer documentation is source-oriented and does not establish built-in streaming apps.
The key details
- Model covered
- VPL-VW665ES
- Image format
- 4K SXRD system with 4096 × 2160 effective pixels
- Rated light output
- 1800 lumens in high lamp mode; not labeled ANSI
- Placement
- Powered 2.06× zoom/focus, powered lens shift, 60–300-inch screen range
ANSI ratings appear only when a model source explicitly gives ANSI lumens. Other manufacturer light-output figures remain labeled by their original basis.
A dedicated home cinema product
Sony's support material describes the VPL-VW665ES as a 4K SXRD home-cinema projector. That intended use points toward a fixed room with a planned screen, an external video source, and space for a substantial chassis rather than a projector meant to travel. The source specifies approximately 14 kilograms and a high-pressure lamp, reinforcing the installation role. This review covers the model-level specification, not the state of a particular used unit or whether a historical Amazon product page still maps to it. Buyers should check exact model markings and condition before deciding that a second-hand listing is suitable.
Sony documents a 4K SXRD imaging system
The official specification lists a 4K SXRD projection system and 4096 × 2160 effective pixels. That provides a source-backed basis for the native 4K path in the category comparison. Do not confuse supported input formats with display detail: Sony lists a range of video signals, including UHD and 4K timing, while the panel system is separately described. The useful point for a home-cinema buyer is that the model belongs in a different detail class from 1080p LCD or pixel-shift models, while room distance and source quality still determine how much of that detail the viewer can resolve.
Keep the 1800-lumen basis in Sony's wording
Sony lists 1800 lumens for light output and 1800 lumens for color light output in high lamp mode. The specification does not call those figures ANSI, so the profile leaves comparable ANSI brightness unknown. The figure is a model rating, not a measurement of a used VPL-VW665ES today; lamp hours, mode, optical cleanliness, calibration, and age can change actual output. That matters if someone hopes to use a very large screen or tolerate ambient light. Use Sony's number for context while comparing it only with sources that use the same stated measurement basis.
Powered lens controls support installation
The manufacturer lists a powered zoom of about 2.06×, powered focus, and powered horizontal and vertical lens shift, along with an image-size range from 60 to 300 inches. These controls can make a permanent installation easier to align without moving the mount. They do not remove the need to calculate throw distance or ensure the projector fits the room. The page does not provide an ultra-short-throw ratio; the powered zoom and lens-shift approach is an installation lens, not a close-wall UST design. Use a projection chart and measure the intended image before purchasing a mount.
External sources and audio belong in the plan
Sony lists two HDMI inputs, LAN, USB, remote control, and RS-232C. Those are the connections of an audiovisual projector, not a documented streaming-app platform. The saved support pages do not list an operating system or built-in consumer services, so plan to use a receiver, player, console, or streaming device as the content source. The page lists no built-in speaker among the core product features. A separate sound system is the normal room companion, and the user's choice of source and receiver should be checked for compatible signal formats and cable lengths.
Lamp condition is part of the purchase decision
The VPL-VW665ES uses a 280 W high-pressure mercury lamp. Sony's rating describes the model, not the remaining life of a particular unit. For a used projector, ask for the lamp-hour count and inspect for uneven focus, dust, discoloration, fan noise, motor operation, and lens-shift movement. Confirm the remote, power cord, and ventilation clearance as well. No review source here measures an individual unit, and no current Amazon offer is claimed. A buyer should include possible lamp replacement and professional setup in the ownership decision rather than selecting the model solely for its resolution.
How the alternatives change the decision
For native 4K with a laser light source, compare Sony VPL-XW5000ES; for a close-wall room, compare LG HU715QW, which trades SXRD imaging for DLP ultra-short-throw placement and built-in webOS.
Before you decide
Is the VPL-VW665ES native 4K?
Sony lists a 4K SXRD projection system and 4096 × 2160 effective pixels for the model.
Is Sony's 1800-lumen value an ANSI figure?
Sony's specification calls it light output but does not label the value ANSI, so comparable ANSI output is unknown.
Does it include streaming apps?
Sony's saved specification lists HDMI and control connections but does not establish an integrated streaming-app platform.
The decision for your answers
The VW665ES is a well-defined 4K SXRD installation model, but any used purchase turns on lamp condition and a careful check of its lens and current revision.
Sources & review basis
Specifications come from the documentation below. Advice about suitability is our editorial interpretation of those features.
- Sony official VPL-VW665ES specifications ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- Sony official VPL-VW665ES specification page ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- Sony official VPL-VW665ES support and manual page ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
Sony VPL-XW5000ES: is it right for you?
Native 4K SXRD laser cinema projector.
Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.
Fits your priorities
The Sony VPL-XW5000ES is a dedicated home-cinema projector with native 4K SXRD pixels and a laser light source. Sony also gives a conventional throw range and manual lens controls, making room measurement central. Its 2000-lumen specification is not ANSI, and the model should be paired with an external source and sound system.
The saved product sources place this model in the role you selected. Sony specifies the VPL-XW5000ES as a home-cinema projector.
A fixed 4K cinema room where native 4K detail, laser illumination, and manual optical alignment are priorities.
It is not a portable or all-in-one smart projector, and it is not the right pick if you require built-in apps or an ANSI-labeled output number.
The advantages and the compromises
Pros
- Sony documents 3840 × 2160 effective pixels across its native 4K SXRD imaging system.
- The laser light source and 2000-lumen model output are specified by Sony.
- A 1.38–2.21:1 throw range, 1.6× manual zoom, and manual lens shift support room installation.
Cons
- Sony lists 2000 lumens without labeling the figure ANSI.
- The projector has no documented consumer streaming operating system or built-in speaker.
- Its manual lens controls require a planned mount position rather than automatic setup.
The key details
- Model covered
- VPL-XW5000ES
- Image format
- Native 3840 × 2160 4K SXRD laser system
- Rated light output
- 2000 lumens; Sony does not label the figure ANSI
- Placement
- 1.38–2.21:1 throw, manual 1.6× zoom/focus and manual lens shift
ANSI ratings appear only when a model source explicitly gives ANSI lumens. Other manufacturer light-output figures remain labeled by their original basis.
The native 4K claim is precisely documented
Sony identifies the VPL-XW5000ES as a native 4K SXRD laser projector and specifies 3840 × 2160 effective pixels. This provides a direct native-detail comparison with lower-resolution or pixel-shift designs. It is designed as a home theater product, and the model page describes 4K and HDR input modes. A buyer should still match the screen, seating distance, and source quality to the image detail; a high pixel count cannot correct a poor source or badly planned room. The profile does not infer a picture-quality ranking from the specification alone.
The laser light source avoids lamp replacement
Sony specifies a laser diode light source and a 2000-lumen output rating. A laser is a different ownership platform from the lamp-based projectors in this category, but it does not mean that a used unit is maintenance-free or currently delivers its original output. Inspect image uniformity, focus, dust, fan behavior, and operating hours or service history when available. Sony's specification does not give an ANSI label for the lumen value, so it stays out of hard ANSI matching. Room light and screen size remain factors even when the model uses laser illumination.
Conventional throw allows more room distance
Sony lists a throw-ratio range of 1.38:1 to 2.21:1 and a manual 1.6× zoom. That is a conventional throw range rather than ultra-short-throw placement: the projector is positioned across the room and aligned to the screen. The lens also has manual vertical and horizontal shift, which can help adjust the image without tilting the chassis. Measure the lens-to-screen distance and target image size before buying a mount, then confirm that the adjustment ranges fit the room. Manual controls give flexibility, but they need a deliberate setup.
Plan separate streaming and sound sources
Sony's support material presents the VPL-XW5000ES as an audiovisual projector, with two HDMI inputs and control connections, but does not list a built-in consumer streaming platform. It is best paired with a receiver, console, disc player, or streaming device. The product page also does not identify an internal speaker, so a home theater audio system belongs in the plan. Internet access and content subscriptions are handled by the external device rather than the projector. Check cable distance and the receiver's output format before fixing the projector location.
Manual placement remains part of installation
The XW5000ES uses manual focus, manual 1.6× zoom, and manual lens shift. Those are useful optical controls, but they are not auto-setup features and do not correct every room constraint. The official throw range should be checked against the physical distance available, and the screen should be positioned to stay within the lens-shift envelope. Confirm ceiling or shelf load, ventilation, and cable routing before mounting. If frequent repositioning is expected, the model's size and manual controls make it less convenient than a compact portable projector.
Verify the exact used sample and model label
The official Sony model pages establish a VPL-XW5000ES specification but do not prove that the historical candidate ASIN currently refers to an exact unit or that a seller's included package is complete. Check the label, remote, lens cap, power cord, inputs, lens movement, and focus on the actual projector. Also confirm software or service notices that may apply to the exact unit. This guide makes no claim about a current Amazon offer, stock, or price. A model search is used so the buyer can check listings and condition directly before purchase.
How the alternatives change the decision
For native 4K in a much closer wall position with built-in webOS, compare LG HU715QW; for a lamp-based native 4K system with powered lens controls, compare Sony VPL-VW665ES.
Before you decide
Does Sony call the XW5000ES's 2000 lumens ANSI?
No. Sony lists 2000 lumens but does not label the figure ANSI, so comparable ANSI brightness remains unknown.
Does it have native 4K resolution?
Sony's official specification lists native 4K SXRD and 3840 × 2160 effective pixels.
Does it include streaming apps or speakers?
The official specification lists source and control inputs but does not establish an app platform or built-in speaker.
The decision for your answers
The XW5000ES is a clearly specified native 4K laser projector for a planned theater room, with non-ANSI output wording and manual installation controls.
Sources & review basis
Specifications come from the documentation below. Advice about suitability is our editorial interpretation of those features.
- Sony official VPL-XW5000ES specifications ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- Sony official VPL-XW5000ES specifications ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
- Sony official support and manual page for VPL-XW5000ES ↗ · Checked 2026-10-04
What this answer does and does not decide
- This is a curated room-planning comparison, not a complete product ranking or a statement about the condition of any listed unit.
- Native device resolution and 4K UHD output projected by XPR are distinct specifications; the HU715QW's underlying native horizontal pixel count remains unknown.
- Manufacturer light-output numbers retain their stated bases. Sony's 2000-lumen figure is not converted to ANSI, and exact historical Amazon offers and included accessories remain unverified.
Change any answer in the interactive video projectors finder if your priorities are different. The finder opens with this answer’s requirements; change any choice to see how the shortlist responds.
Questions to ask before you choose
Does the HU715QW produce a 3840 × 2160 image?
Yes. LG's manual specifies 4K UHD output with 8.3 million discrete pixels projected through XPR; the saved specification does not establish the native horizontal pixel count of its imaging device.
Which models have documented native 4K imaging in this comparison?
JVC identifies native 4096 × 2160 devices in the NX5, Sony lists 4096 × 2160 for the VW665ES, and Sony lists 3840 × 2160 for the XW5000ES.
Can I compare their brightness claims as though they were all ANSI lumens?
No. The XW5000ES figure is 2000 lumens without an ANSI label, the VW665ES saved source does not establish an ANSI rating, and the LG explicitly states 2500 ANSI lumens.
Check the product details
Open a full review for the complete editorial analysis, pros, cons, alternatives, and source list. The links below open the full reviews for each option in this answer.
Browse all scenario answers → · Adjust this shortlist in the finder →