Home/Answer pages/HP Elite Autofocus, Logitech C920, or QuickCam 3000 for Business?
Computers & Office · SCENARIO ANSWER
HP Elite Autofocus, Logitech C920, or QuickCam 3000 for Business?
Question: For a simple USB camera, should I choose HP's autofocus and physical cover, the C920's documented 1080p30, or QuickCam 3000's manual focus and VGA30?
About this comparison
These three exact models suit different constraints. HP lists autofocus, a physical shutter, stereo microphone, and 720p/1600×1200 modes, but the taller modes run at low frame rates and the historical ASIN is unverified. Logitech C920 part 960-000764 adds a conventional 1080p30 mode and autofocus, while its saved record does not confirm the privacy accessory in a current offer. QuickCam 3000 for Business 960-000309 is model-matched to its current Amazon item; its guide documents manual focus and VGA capture, and the exact listing states up to 30 fps. Check the target host and seller condition before relying on any legacy model.
Research basis: This answer compares documented features for the reviewed webcams in this guide. We have not tested these products hands-on. This article compares selected models; the interactive finder considers the full reviewed range.
THE SHORT ANSWER
What we would do
Choose HP Elite Autofocus AU927AA#ABA when autofocus and a physical lens cover matter, and VGA30 or low-rate 720p/1600×1200 is acceptable. Its 1280×720 mode is only up to 8 fps and 1600×1200 is 5–6 fps; the 19 MP figure is software-interpolated still capture, not video. Choose Logitech C920 part 960-000764 when you want a documented 1080p30 mode, autofocus, and a fixed 78-degree diagonal field; its privacy accessory and current host support remain unconfirmed. Choose QuickCam 3000 for Business 960-000309 when VGA is enough and you prefer a manual focus ring for a fixed distance; the exact item page lists 640×480 video up to 30 fps and identifies the part and UPC. Both Logitech listings are model-matched, while HP's historical ASIN is not. This compares documentation rather than tested performance.
THE NEEDS BEHIND THESE PICKS
What this answer assumes
These are the needs behind this comparison. Change them in the questionnaire to get a shortlist for your own routine.
Do you require a physical lens cover or shutter?I would like a physical coverPreference
Is autofocus a requirement?I would like autofocusPreference
I would like a physical coverPhysical lens cover · Preference
FitsWhy
A physical cover or shutter is documented. The model-specific user guide identifies a privacy shutter control.
Needs checkingWhy
A physical cover is not confirmed for this exact model.
Needs checkingWhy
A physical cover is not confirmed for this exact model.
I would like autofocusAutofocus · Preference
FitsWhy
Autofocus is documented for this model. HP identifies autofocus and an effective focal range from 4 inches to infinity.
FitsWhy
Autofocus is documented for this model.
Trade-offWhy
The model specification does not document autofocus. The exact-part guide identifies a manual focusing ring.
Documented video modes
HP lists live video at 640×480 up to 30 fps, 1280×720 up to 8 fps, and 1600×1200 at 5–6 fps; up-to-19 MP stills are software-interpolated.
1080p30 and 720p30
The Logitech guide documents 640×480 video; the exact model listing describes video up to 30 fps and separately lists up-to-1.3 MP software image capture.
Focus and framing
Autofocus covers an effective range from 4 inches to infinity; the diagonal field angle is not specified.
Autofocus; fixed 78° diagonal
Manual focus is explicit; the diagonal field and focus distance are not stated.
Light and lens privacy
A physical privacy shutter and front LED are listed; the LED is not described as an illumination lamp, and shutter-linked audio muting is unknown.
The guide labels an activity light; it does not document an illumination lamp or a physical privacy cover.
Integrated audio
HP documents an integrated stereo microphone; no built-in speaker is documented.
Two built-in microphones; stereo placement
An integrated microphone is documented; no built-in speaker or audio-cutoff privacy control is documented.
Connection and mounting
USB 2.0 high-speed/UVC, an adjustable clip/stand, pan/tilt adjustment, and a 1 m cable are listed; connector shape is not stated.
USB webcam; tripod-ready base
Plug-and-play USB, UVC on Windows XP/Vista, a flexible clip/base, and a screw mount for custom clip bases are documented; connector shape is not.
Identity and setup limits
HP confirms part AU927AA#ABA and UPC 884962534496; B0035EQ8A4 is not cross-mapped, and current OS/app support is unknown.
Part and ASIN cross-referenced; current condition unknown
The Amazon item identifies model 960-000309, QuickCam 3000, UPC 097855055613 and ASIN B000BO1X2Y; current support pages have no downloads or technical specs.
Fits: a documented match. Trade-off: a preference is not met. Needs checking: the detail is not confirmed.
THE SHORTLIST
The closest fit for this question
Start here for the needs above. Read the advantages and compromises before deciding which one suits you.
For autofocus, a privacy shutter, and documented VGA30 capture
Closer fit
Why it appears here
HP documents autofocus from 4 inches to infinity, a physical privacy shutter, a stereo microphone, and video modes through 1600×1200 for exact part AU927AA#ABA.
What you give up
The 720p mode is up to 8 fps and 1600×1200 is 5–6 fps; HP's 19 MP figure is interpolated stills, current OS support is unknown, and the historical ASIN is unmapped.
Documented video modes
HP lists live video at 640×480 up to 30 fps, 1280×720 up to 8 fps, and 1600×1200 at 5–6 fps; up-to-19 MP stills are software-interpolated.
Focus and framing
Autofocus covers an effective range from 4 inches to infinity; the diagonal field angle is not specified.
Light and lens privacy
A physical privacy shutter and front LED are listed; the LED is not described as an illumination lamp, and shutter-linked audio muting is unknown.
Integrated audio
HP documents an integrated stereo microphone; no built-in speaker is documented.
Connection and mounting
USB 2.0 high-speed/UVC, an adjustable clip/stand, pan/tilt adjustment, and a 1 m cable are listed; connector shape is not stated.
Identity and setup limits
HP confirms part AU927AA#ABA and UPC 884962534496; B0035EQ8A4 is not cross-mapped, and current OS/app support is unknown.
Search this model on Amazon ↗Paid search link · We may earn a commission. Confirm the exact model and seller in the results.
Logitech documents 1080p30, autofocus, and a fixed 78-degree diagonal field for C920 part 960-000764, giving a conventional Full HD alternative to the two VGA-or-low-rate legacy cameras.
What you give up
The C920 has no documented 60 fps mode; the saved record does not confirm a physical privacy shade for the exact current offer or establish current host support.
Check before relying on it
A physical cover is not confirmed for this exact model.
The exact listing identifies Logitech part 960-000309 and UPC 097855055613; its description states VGA video up to 30 fps, and Logitech's guide documents a manual focus ring and flexible base.
What you give up
The video mode is 640×480 and focus is manual; the guide documents UVC only for Windows XP/Vista, while current host support and a physical lens cover remain unknown.
Check before relying on it
A physical cover is not confirmed for this exact model.
Documented video modes
The Logitech guide documents 640×480 video; the exact model listing describes video up to 30 fps and separately lists up-to-1.3 MP software image capture.
Focus and framing
Manual focus is explicit; the diagonal field and focus distance are not stated.
Light and lens privacy
The guide labels an activity light; it does not document an illumination lamp or a physical privacy cover.
Integrated audio
An integrated microphone is documented; no built-in speaker or audio-cutoff privacy control is documented.
Connection and mounting
Plug-and-play USB, UVC on Windows XP/Vista, a flexible clip/base, and a screw mount for custom clip bases are documented; connector shape is not.
Identity and setup limits
The Amazon item identifies model 960-000309, QuickCam 3000, UPC 097855055613 and ASIN B000BO1X2Y; current support pages have no downloads or technical specs.
This is a curated three-model comparison, not a ranking of all webcams or current Amazon offers.
HP's 19 MP still figure is interpolated and is kept separate from its listed live-video modes.
The QuickCam guide confirms VGA capture; its exact checked Amazon description supplies the up-to-30-fps listing claim.
HP AU927AA#ABA is verified by HP part and UPC, but B0035EQ8A4 is not mapped to it; QuickCam ASIN B000BO1X2Y is matched to model 960-000309 and UPC 097855055613.
Current prices, stock, offer condition, hands-on performance, and customer-review sentiment are not evaluated.
Change any answer in the interactive webcams finder if your priorities are different. The finder opens with the same must-haves and preferences; change any choice to see how the shortlist responds.
USEFUL FOLLOW-UPS
Questions to ask before you choose
Does HP's 19-megapixel figure describe live video?
No. HP labels that figure as software-interpolated still images; its listed live modes are 640×480, 1280×720, and 1600×1200.
Which model has autofocus?
HP documents autofocus for AU927AA#ABA. Logitech's 960-000309 guide shows a manual focus ring instead.
When is the C920 the more suitable alternative?
Choose C920 part 960-000764 when the documented 1080p30 mode, autofocus, and fixed 78-degree diagonal field matter more than a confirmed physical privacy cover.
Is the Logitech item matched to its exact part?
Yes. The checked Amazon item identifies model number 960-000309, QuickCam 3000, UPC 097855055613, and ASIN B000BO1X2Y.
Can I assume either model works with a current meeting app?
No. HP documents legacy XP/Vista/Windows 7 software requirements and Logitech documents UVC on XP/Vista; current host and app support remain unverified.
SOURCES & REVIEW LINKS
Check the product details
Open a full review for the complete editorial analysis, pros, cons, alternatives, and source list. The links below open the full reviews for each option in this answer.
Use the full reviews below for the documented details, pros, cons, alternatives, and sources for every option in this answer. The shortlist above explains how each one fits this question.
HP Elite Autofocus Webcam AU927AA#ABARead the full review · Features, pros, cons and sourcesTHE FULL REVIEW · Fits your priorities
HP Elite Autofocus Webcam AU927AA#ABA: is it right for you?
For autofocus, a privacy shutter, and documented VGA30 capture.
Buyer Shortlists editorial·
Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.
IN THE CONTEXT OF YOUR ANSWERS
Fits your priorities
HP's Elite Autofocus AU927AA#ABA is an older USB 2.0/UVC webcam with genuine autofocus, a physical privacy cover, a stereo microphone, and several documented video modes. Its highest-height listed stream is 1600×1200 at only 5–6 fps; the familiar VGA mode reaches 30 fps. HP's model and UPC are confirmed, but the historical Amazon ASIN has not been mapped to this part. This is a source-based assessment, not a personal test.
I would like a physical coverPreference · Fits this answer
A physical cover or shutter is documented. The model-specific user guide identifies a privacy shutter control.
I would like autofocusPreference · Fits this answer
Autofocus is documented for this model. HP identifies autofocus and an effective focal range from 4 inches to infinity.
Consider it for
A buyer who confirms the AU927AA#ABA part and wants autofocus, a physical lens cover, and integrated stereo audio for a compatible legacy setup..
Look elsewhere if
Not for a buyer who needs 1080p30, 1080p60, a measured wide-angle view, an integrated lamp, confirmed audio muting with the shutter, or established support on a current operating system and conferencing app.
The advantages and the compromises
Pros
Autofocus is documented from four inches to infinity, a useful range when the camera distance changes.
HP lists separate video modes and rates, rather than treating interpolated still-image resolution as live video.
A physical privacy cover and integrated stereo microphone are documented for the exact model and part.
Cons
The 1280×720 mode is limited to 8 fps and 1600×1200 to 5–6 fps; neither is a conventional smooth HD call mode.
The data sheet gives no diagonal field measurement, and its face-tracking mention does not establish two-axis camera movement.
HP's setup requirements date to Windows XP, Vista, and Windows 7; current software and host compatibility are unconfirmed.
The key details
Model covered
AU927AA#ABA
Documented video modes
HP lists live video at 640×480 up to 30 fps, 1280×720 up to 8 fps, and 1600×1200 at 5–6 fps; up-to-19 MP stills are software-interpolated.
Focus and framing
Autofocus covers an effective range from 4 inches to infinity; the diagonal field angle is not specified.
Light and lens privacy
A physical privacy shutter and front LED are listed; the LED is not described as an illumination lamp, and shutter-linked audio muting is unknown.
Integrated audio
HP documents an integrated stereo microphone; no built-in speaker is documented.
Connection and mounting
USB 2.0 high-speed/UVC, an adjustable clip/stand, pan/tilt adjustment, and a 1 m cable are listed; connector shape is not stated.
Identity and setup limits
HP confirms part AU927AA#ABA and UPC 884962534496; B0035EQ8A4 is not cross-mapped, and current OS/app support is unknown.
Which video modes are actually listed?
HP identifies a 3-megapixel CMOS sensor, but that sensor figure is not a promise of a 3-megapixel video stream. The mode table lists 640×480 at up to 30 frames per second, 1280×720 at up to 8 fps, and 1600×1200 at 5–6 fps. It separately advertises still images up to 19 megapixels by software interpolation. Those are different capture paths: the still-image figure does not increase live-video detail. A buyer comparing webcams for meetings should focus on the exact stream size and rate, where this model is modest. It does not document a 1920×1080 mode, 1080p60, or 4K. Its VGA30 option is the only listed mode with a rate commonly associated with fluid motion; the taller modes trade motion cadence for more pixels.
Relevant to your autofocus answer
Does autofocus make it easier to frame a changing setup?
HP specifies autofocus with an effective focal range from four inches to infinity. That gives it more flexibility than a camera whose lens must be focused by hand when the subject moves closer or farther away. The user guide also describes an Auto Focus setting and an option to adjust focus manually in the included ArcSoft application. The product sheet mentions face-tracking, but it does not say that the camera mechanically follows a person or define a two-axis tracking function. The adjustable stand supports pan and tilt positioning, which is useful for aiming the camera once; it should not be confused with automatic tracking. HP provides no diagonal field-of-view angle, so a user who must fit several people into one frame cannot compare it reliably with products that publish a measured diagonal view.
Relevant to your physical lens cover answer
What privacy and lighting controls are documented?
The model guide identifies a privacy-shutter control, giving the user a physical way to cover the lens between calls. HP does not say that closing it disconnects the stereo microphone, so audio privacy still needs a separate mute action or another documented control. The data sheet also lists a front LED, but does not describe it as a subject-facing lamp; an indicator should not be counted as room lighting. There is no supported claim here that the camera can light a dim desk. The three top buttons are described as quick launch controls for video recording, image capture, and chat. Those buttons and the shutter solve different jobs: one set starts software actions, while the cover blocks the camera lens physically.
How do audio and connection fit a desk setup?
HP lists an integrated stereo microphone, USB 2.0 high-speed certification, and UVC support. UVC can reduce reliance on a model-specific capture driver on compatible hosts, but HP's included software and support list are historical and do not establish present-day operation in a particular app. The camera cable is listed as one meter. HP describes a stand/clip that works on a desktop or attaches to notebook, LCD, and CRT monitors, with specified pan and tilt adjustment. The documents do not identify the USB connector shape, a built-in speaker, microphone pickup distance, or whether the shutter stops audio capture. Someone using an external microphone and a modern work platform should verify the exact host and application before treating the old camera as a primary work device.
What do the model and support records establish?
HP's data sheet identifies part AU927AA#ABA and UPC 884962534496. That confirms a real model boundary for this camera, but it does not connect the historical candidate ASIN B0035EQ8A4 to this exact HP part. The direct candidate page could not be inspected, so the product uses a tagged Amazon search for the exact HP model instead of a direct link. HP's user guide lists Windows XP SP2/SP3, Vista, and Windows 7 for its included software and describes CD-based setup. The broad period statement that it works across desktop and notebook platforms is not proof of current operating-system, security, or conferencing-app support. Buyers should verify the seller's model label and the intended host before purchasing.
Who should shortlist the AU927AA#ABA?
Choose it when its exact part label is confirmed and the combination of autofocus, physical lens cover, stereo microphone, and adjustable clip is useful for a controlled desk or legacy-computer setup. Its published low-rate 720p and 1600×1200 modes may suit occasional capture better than a modern live meeting that expects smooth Full HD. Choose another model if the purchase depends on 1080p, a documented broad diagonal view, built-in lighting, or current software support. The listed 19-megapixel stills are interpolated, and the product's source-backed value is its documented focus and controls, not a claim about measured image quality. The recommendation is based on model-specific documentation rather than hands-on testing or customer-review summaries.
How the alternatives change the decision
Choose a webcam with documented 1080p30 or better, a measured diagonal view, or current host support when any of those are required; do not infer those features from the HP sensor or still-image figures.
Before you decide
Does the 19-megapixel figure mean 19 MP video?
No. HP labels that as software-interpolated still-image capture; the live modes are listed separately and top out at 1600×1200.
Does it have 1080p video?
The inspected HP data sheet lists 640×480, 1280×720, and 1600×1200 video modes, not 1920×1080.
Does closing the privacy cover mute the microphone?
HP documents the cover and stereo microphone separately but does not state that the cover cuts off audio.
Is B0035EQ8A4 confirmed as the AU927AA#ABA listing?
No. HP confirms the part and UPC, but the candidate ASIN could not be cross-mapped; use the exact-model Amazon search link.
Will it work with a current computer?
HP's listed software requirements cover XP, Vista, and Windows 7. Current operating-system and app support are not established by those historical documents.
Is the front LED a built-in light?
HP lists a front LED without describing it as an illumination lamp, so the product is not matched as having an integrated light.
The decision for your answers
AU927AA#ABA is a verified HP model with autofocus, a physical shutter, and stereo audio, but its higher-height video modes are slow and its candidate ASIN and current host support remain unverified. Confirm the exact part and intended software before choosing it.
Search this model on Amazon ↗Paid search link · We may earn a commission. Confirm the exact model and seller in the results.
Logitech C920 HD Pro Webcam, part 960-000764Read the full review · Features, pros, cons and sourcesTHE FULL REVIEW · Some details to check
Logitech C920 HD Pro Webcam, part 960-000764: is it right for you?
For a fixed, documented Full HD desk frame.
Buyer Shortlists editorial·
Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.
IN THE CONTEXT OF YOUR ANSWERS
Some details to check
The C920 part 960-000764 is a straightforward choice for buyers who want a fixed 78-degree frame, autofocus, clear 1080p30 video, and integrated stereo microphones. Its core picture and audio attributes have stronger manufacturer documentation than many title-only listings. The frozen ASIN B0876TG13V is cross-matched to the exact model and part; current condition and host support still need checking.
I would like a physical coverPreference · Needs checking
A physical cover is not confirmed for this exact model.
I would like autofocusPreference · Fits this answer
Autofocus is documented for this model.
Consider it for
A fixed desk setup where autofocus and documented stereo microphones matter more than higher frame rates or room movement..
Look elsewhere if
Not for a buyer who requires a documented 1080p60 mode, physical pan and tilt, long-range optical zoom, or a verified current support guarantee for a specific computer and meeting app.
The advantages and the compromises
Pros
Logitech documents 1080p30 and 720p30 modes, autofocus, and a fixed 78-degree diagonal field.
A five-element glass lens, automatic light correction, and two-microphone stereo audio are documented.
The manufacturer catalog identifies onboard H.264 processing and a tripod-ready base for part 960-000764.
Cons
Current product lifecycle, offer condition, and support window remain unresolved.
USB revision, plug type, cable length, and exact privacy-shade contents were not established.
A tripod-ready base does not establish that a tripod is included in this offer.
Part and ASIN cross-referenced; current condition unknown
Identity and exact listing
A third-party item record reproduces the Logitech C920 title and lists ASIN B0876TG13V, part 960-000764, and UPC 097855074355. Logitech’s business catalog places part 960-000764 under the HD Pro Webcam C920. This supports the saved tagged direct Amazon destination. The frozen title says discontinued by manufacturer, but the materials inspected here do not establish the product’s present lifecycle, offer condition, or current support window.
Relevant to your autofocus answer
Picture and framing
Logitech lists 1080p at 30 fps and 720p at 30 fps, a five-element glass lens, autofocus, and a fixed diagonal 78-degree view. That view suits framing one desk user and some surrounding workspace. The manufacturer catalog identifies a 3 MP sensor for part 960-000764 and automatic light correction. These specifications help distinguish the C920 from products whose titles mention 1080p or autofocus without model-specific documentation. They do not establish how a particular room, lighting setup, or calling app will look.
Relevant to your physical lens cover answer
Audio and mounting
Logitech describes two microphones, one on each side, providing stereo audio. The sources inspected here do not give a dependable pickup distance or establish how background-noise reduction performs in a buyer’s room. The catalog lists a tripod-ready base. It does not establish that a tripod is included in this ASIN’s offer. Exact privacy-shade contents are not part of the cross-reference used here, so verify them if a physical shutter matters.
Connection and compatibility
The matching item record identifies it as a USB webcam. The inspected references do not pin down the USB generation, connector shape, or cable length. The historical title’s lifecycle parenthetical also does not establish whether a particular current operating system, browser, or meeting application still supports the camera. Confirm those details for the exact unit and computer before purchase.
Who may consider it
Consider the C920 when a documented 1080p30 desk webcam with autofocus, a moderate fixed frame, and built-in stereo audio fits the setup. Buyers who need physical pan and tilt, long-range optical zoom, a very wide room view, newer high-frame-rate modes, or confirmed current host support should compare those requirements against exact product documentation first. Its ordinary fixed-camera geometry is distinct from a room-positioning PTZ candidate.
How the alternatives change the decision
The C922 favors 720p60 streaming and has a clearer current listing match. The Brio 4K Pro offers higher-resolution modes and adjustable framing, with additional setup questions.
Before you decide
Is ASIN B0876TG13V mapped to part 960-000764?
A cited exact-item record lists both identifiers and the matching C920 title, and Logitech’s catalog identifies the same part as a C920.
Does it support 1080p at 60 fps?
No such mode is documented in the sources used here. Logitech lists 1080p30 and 720p30.
Does it have autofocus and stereo microphones?
Logitech documents autofocus and two microphones placed on opposite sides of the camera for stereo sound.
Is a tripod included?
The manufacturer catalog calls the base tripod-ready; package inclusion for this exact ASIN is not established.
The decision for your answers
Choose this C920 part when its fixed Full HD frame, autofocus, and documented stereo microphones suit the desk. Verify current condition and host support, and do not assume a tripod or privacy shade is in the package.
Logitech QuickCam 3000 for BusinessRead the full review · Features, pros, cons and sourcesTHE FULL REVIEW · Trade-offs to weigh
Logitech QuickCam 3000 for Business: is it right for you?
For manual focus and model-matched VGA video.
Buyer Shortlists editorial·
Based on linked manufacturer documentation and editorial analysis. We have not tested this product hands-on.
IN THE CONTEXT OF YOUR ANSWERS
Trade-offs to weigh
The Logitech QuickCam 3000 for Business, exact part 960-000309, is a VGA-era USB webcam with a manual focus ring, integrated microphone, flexible clip/base, and a documented 640×480 mode. The exact listing describes video up to 30 fps; Logitech's quick-start guide confirms VGA capture and documents the older UVC setup. This is a source-based assessment, not a personal test.
I would like a physical coverPreference · Needs checking
A physical cover is not confirmed for this exact model.
I would like autofocusPreference · A trade-off
The model specification does not document autofocus. The exact-part guide identifies a manual focusing ring.
Consider it for
A buyer who wants the exact 960-000309 part, finds VGA sufficient, and prefers manual focus for a stable camera distance after verifying the intended host..
Look elsewhere if
Not for anyone who needs 720p or higher live video, autofocus, a documented wide diagonal field, a physical privacy cover, a built-in light, or confirmed compatibility with a current operating system and conferencing app.
The advantages and the compromises
Pros
The exact Amazon item identifies Logitech model 960-000309 and UPC 097855055613, resolving the historical candidate ASIN to this part.
A manual focus ring gives direct control for a fixed camera-to-subject distance.
The guide documents a flexible clip/base and screw mount for customized clip bases.
Cons
Video is VGA 640×480; the 1.3-megapixel figure applies to software image capture, not a higher-resolution video mode.
Manual focus needs adjustment after distance changes, and no diagonal field measurement is published.
Logitech's current support page lists no downloads or technical specifications, while the guide names only Windows XP/Vista UVC support.
The key details
Model covered
960-000309
Documented video modes
The Logitech guide documents 640×480 video; the exact model listing describes video up to 30 fps and separately lists up-to-1.3 MP software image capture.
Focus and framing
Manual focus is explicit; the diagonal field and focus distance are not stated.
Light and lens privacy
The guide labels an activity light; it does not document an illumination lamp or a physical privacy cover.
Integrated audio
An integrated microphone is documented; no built-in speaker or audio-cutoff privacy control is documented.
Connection and mounting
Plug-and-play USB, UVC on Windows XP/Vista, a flexible clip/base, and a screw mount for custom clip bases are documented; connector shape is not.
Identity and setup limits
The Amazon item identifies model 960-000309, QuickCam 3000, UPC 097855055613 and ASIN B000BO1X2Y; current support pages have no downloads or technical specs.
Does the 1.3-megapixel number describe video?
The quick-start guide separates two kinds of capture. It describes 640×480 video, while the optional QuickCam Enterprise software can capture still images up to 1.3 megapixels. The exact Amazon item page also describes VGA video at up to 30 frames per second. These facts support a modest desk camera for basic video calls or demonstrations, not a modern high-resolution stream. A still-image pixel count should not be treated as a live-video mode, and the source does not document 720p, 1080p, or 4K. A buyer who needs detail for a whiteboard, product close-up, or cropped view should compare a model with a clearly stated higher video mode rather than rely on the still-image number.
Relevant to your autofocus answer
When is manual focus useful or inconvenient?
The Logitech guide identifies a manual focusing ring. For a camera that stays at one distance, this lets the user set focus deliberately rather than rely on autofocus behavior. It can be helpful in a fixed demonstration setup where the camera-to-object distance is known. The trade-off is that a person leaning in or moving back may leave the original focus setting; the user must turn the ring again. This model does not document autofocus, and the sources provide no focus-distance range or diagonal field-of-view measurement. Its flexible clip/base and screw-mount design allow placement changes, but moving the mount does not automatically refocus or widen the view. Choose it only if VGA is adequate and the manual adjustment suits the way the camera will be used.
Relevant to your physical lens cover answer
What audio and software functions are supported?
The guide labels an integrated microphone and an activity light. It also describes QuickCam Enterprise software features such as RightLight image adjustment, RightSound background-noise reduction, audio/video mute, and motion detection. Those are software features in the legacy companion package, not evidence of a built-in illumination lamp or a physical lens shutter. Logitech's guide warns that background suppression can distort speech when noise is loud and irregular, and advises disabling that function if it happens. The exact listing and guide do not document a speaker, stereo capture, microphone range, or an audio-cutoff privacy action. Someone who depends on a particular mute workflow should verify that the needed old software can run on the intended computer, or use host-level controls that are documented for that computer.
How does its mount and USB setup affect placement?
The manual shows a flexible clip/base and says the camera uses a screw-mount design for customized clip bases. That offers more than one way to attach or aim the small camera, but the available evidence does not give a field-angle value, cable length, or a full current package inventory. Logitech describes plug-and-play USB connection and UVC driver support in Windows XP and Vista. USB/UVC can simplify basic camera detection on a compatible host, but those old platform statements do not establish operation in current versions of Windows, macOS, Linux, or today's meeting software. Logitech's present support pages list no model downloads or technical specifications. Check the computer, app, adapters, and seller's actual included mount before relying on this as a work camera.
Is this the exact 960-000309 listing?
The checked Amazon item page identifies Logitech as the brand, 960-000309 as model number, QuickCam 3000 as model name, UPC 097855055613, GTIN 00097855055613, and ASIN B000BO1X2Y. Its product description names QuickCam 3000 for Business. That combination supports a direct model link for this candidate and keeps it separate from other QuickCam products with different part numbers. Logitech's support record confirms the QuickCam 3000 for Business product family but currently exposes no product downloads or technical specifications. The detailed operational claims here come from the model-specific Logitech-authored guide and are not transferred from another QuickCam revision. The exact product identity does not establish current offer condition, package completeness, or present software support.
Relevant to your physical lens cover and autofocus answer
Who should consider the QuickCam 3000 for Business?
Consider it only when a documented VGA image is enough, the exact 960-000309 listing is desired, and manual focus and the flexible base fit the setup. It has a useful identity trail and concrete older controls, but a buyer who expects autofocus, a privacy cover, broad room framing, or modern host confirmation should choose another documented model. A feature called activity light should not be read as a camera lamp, and software mute should not be read as physical lens privacy. The ASIN is model-matched, but no live offer or price claim is made. This recommendation compares published specifications and operating limits; it does not describe hands-on use or customer-review sentiment.
How the alternatives change the decision
Choose a current model with documented HD or higher video, autofocus, physical lens privacy, or modern OS support when one of those features is essential.
Before you decide
Does it record 1.3-megapixel video?
No. Logitech's guide separates 640×480 video from still-image capture up to 1.3 megapixels in the companion software.
What frame rate does the exact listing state?
The checked 960-000309 Amazon product description says VGA video is up to 30 frames per second; Logitech's quick-start guide confirms 640×480 capture.
Does this model autofocus?
No. The model-specific guide shows a manual focusing ring; autofocus is not listed.
Does the activity light illuminate the user?
The guide labels it as an activity light, not an illumination lamp, so it is not counted as an integrated camera light.
Does it have a physical privacy shutter?
No cover or shutter is documented in the inspected exact-part guide; physical lens privacy remains unconfirmed.
Will it work with a current computer?
Logitech's guide documents UVC on Windows XP and Vista, but current OS and conferencing-app support are not established. Logitech's present support page has no downloads for this product.
The decision for your answers
QuickCam 3000 for Business part 960-000309 is a precisely identified VGA webcam with manual focus and a flexible mount. Its exact ASIN is mapped, but current host support, lens privacy, and a measured field angle are not documented.